The Gold Coast Stingrays, winners of the 2011 Australia Post State U16 Championships, dominate a 43-man Queensland Austalia Post Scorpions squad announced today by coach Ray Windsor (pictured).

Thursday, 5 May, 2011

The Gold Coast Stingrays, winners of the 2011 Australia Post State U16 Championships, dominate a 43-man Queensland Australia Post Scorpions squad announced today by coach Ray Windsor.

The Stingrays won nine spots in a preliminary squad that will play three practice matches before eventually being cut to 25, plus five emergencies, for the NAB AFL National U16 Championships in Western Sydney on 10-17 July.

Regional breakdown of the rest of the squad sees Suncoast Power (6) head the list from Northern Raiders (5), Western Taipans (4), South-East Bushrangers (4), Country Kookaburras (5), Lions Academy Colts (5) and Papua New Guinea (3).

AFL Queensland State Talent Manager Bob Batty advises that all players named below are required for the an initial intra-squad practice match next Wednesday, 11 May, at Giffin Park, Coorparoo.

Players are to arrive by 5.15 pm for a 6.45 pm start.

Country players will be contacted separately by phone to arrange travel arrangements.

All players are to wear their regional club gear (shorts and socks) – jumpers will be allocated on the night.

If a player is unavailable for this initial practice match they need to ring the State Talent Manager Bob Batty on (07) 30335402 by Monday 9 May.

The squad is:

GOLD COAST STINGRAYS: Jarred Ellis (Broadbeach), Ethan Alexander- Crackel, Ben McIntosh, Angus Watts (Labrador), Tyler Cornish, Shaun Wilson (Palm Beach Currumbin), James Mc Namara, Jarryd Klessens (Surfers Paradise), Caleb Hay (Northern Rivers).

SUNCOAST POWER: Haydn Smoothy, Nick Selman (Maroochydore), Zac Southern (Nambour), Brad Forbes (Pomona), Cain Tickner (Noosa), Jackson Gray (Rookie Search).

NORTHERN RAIDERS: Aiden Rutledge, Isaac Conway , Josh Stiller (Sandgate), Lachlan Niland- Rowe, Nick Jackson (Aspley).

WESTERN TAIPANS: Hayden Bertoli-Simmons, Bill Pendlebury (Morningside), Matthew Uebergang (Ipswich), Ryan Major (Jindalee Jaguars).

SOUTH EAST BUSHRANGERS: Liam Eadie (Redland), Steven Coutts (Mt Gravatt), Ben Bissett, Jordan Piper (Morningside).

COUNTRY KOOKABURRAS: Hamish Davidson, Steven Mills (Capricornia), Jack Goodall (Cairns), Tye Hughes (Darling Downs), Isaac Rokeby (Crusaders).

LIONS ACADEMY COLTS: Lewis Radford (Everton), Nick Davidson (Mt Gravatt), Liam Dawson (Redcliffe), Daniel Preen (Kenmore), Jono Skippen  (Rookie Search).

PAPUA NEW GUINEA: Scott Johnson, Ori Nilmo (PNG Northern Academy), Michael Macca ( PNG Highlands Academy).

Jordan Bourke (Morningside) and Jermaine Wardle (Cairns), who will turn 17 in late December this year, will also be included in the training group.

Batty advises that players injured before or during the State Championships will also be considered for final selection when they regain full fitness.

Our Supporters