Women’s Championships kick off in Cairns

The 2013 National Women’s Championships kick off today in Cairns.

The championships involve eight teams in two divisions.

Division One: Victoria, Western Australia, Queensland and New South Wales.

Division Two: South Australia, ACT, Tasmania, and for the first time Arafura which includes players from the Northern Territory, Far North Queensland and Papua New Guinea.

AFL General Manager National and International Development Andrew Dillon said the thirteenth National Women’s Championships will showcase the country’s best female football talent.

“More than 136,000 females play Australian football which represents the AFL’s highest growth segment.

“The standard of play is at very high and I look forward to see if Victoria can defend their title,” he said.

The National Women’s Championships are biennial. Victoria won the 2011 carnival defeating Western Australia in Adelaide.

The 2013 Division One final will be played at 4.20pm Saturday June 22 at Cazaly’s Stadium.

The Debbie Lee Medal will be presented to the best player of the carnival.

The inaugural Melissa Backhouse Medal will be presented to the most outstanding rising star player of the carnival.

Matches played at Cazaly Stadium will be live streamed at this address: http://new.livestream.com/accounts/4214247/events/2172362

Follow the championships on twitter: #aflkicksforchicks and for quarter by quarter scores @kicksforchicks

Our Supporters