Burge moves into the lead : Syd Guildford Trophy Round 6

By Alice Barker

Palm Beach Currumbin midfielder Jason Burge has emerged as the new leader in the Syd Guildford Trophy jumping ahead of teammate Tom Thynne, following a spectacular weekend of footy.

Burge polled a game-high eight votes in the Lions’ 87-point win against Surfers Paradise, where he was a stand-out performer all over the field booting one goal.

Since joining the ranks at Salk Oval, Burge has played 41 games for Palm Beach Currumbin including two premierships and has become one of the competition’s most revered and consistent performers.

After taking the lead in the Syd Guildford Trophy, Burge already boasts a strong trophy cabinet having already won the Grogan Medal in 2017 alongside Labrador’s Wayde Mills and has played over 100 games for the Southport side, with 92 at NEAFL level.

The Lions cleaned up the Syd Guilford Trophy leader board, with Burge receiving eight votes, followed by teammates Jack Anthony, Tyler Cornish and Curtis Marsden (all six).

Anthony has had a strong season, booting a game average of five goals per game, kicking six against the Surfers Paradise on the weekend.  

In Wilston Grange’s game against Mt Gravatt, Christopher Murphy (Mt Gravatt) received a perfect ten votes followed by Daniel Farry (Wilston Grange) and Frazer Neate (Mt Gravatt) both polling four.

The result for Murphy couldn’t come at a more suiting time, with this game being his 100thsenior appearance with a best on-ground performance on a flank and in the middle.

Broadbeach convincingly took the win in their Gold Coast derby with Labrador and cleaned up the leader board with plenty of Cats featuring in this week’s votes.

A perfect ten was awarded to Jake Hinds, after his spectacular performance booting six goals in his side’s 52-point win.

Labrador only appeared in the votes once with Alex McKay receiving five votes, making him sixth in line to the Syd Guildford Trophy, with 17 overall.

Morningside shrugged off last week’s results in their big win over Sandgate on Sunday, resulting in a margin of 93 points between the sides.

The most votes awarded to a player was Redland NEAFL midfielder Ryan Dadds who claimed the maximum ten votes, followed closely by fellow Panthers, Brad Hodge, Nathan Beck and Samuel Godfrey who all polled six in the win.

With all the votes in, Jason Burge compellingly sits at the top on 28 votes, teammate Tom Thynne following behind with 19 and Henry Joyce in third position on 18 votes.


Palm Beach Currumbin v Surfers Paradise

8 – Jason Burge (Palm Beach Currumbin)

6 – John Anthony (Palm Beach Currumbin)

6 – Tyler Cornish (Palm Beach Currumbin)

6 – Curtis Marsden (Palm Beach Currumbin)

3 – Glenn Screech (Palm Beach Currumbin)

1 – Haydn Kiel (Surfers Paradise)

Mt Gravatt v Wilston Grange

10 – Christopher Murphy (Mt Gravatt)

4 – Daniel Farry (Wilston Grange)

4 – Frazer Neate (Mt Gravatt)

3 – Henry Leong (Wilston Grange)

3 – Jarrod Huddy (Mt Gravatt)

3 – Andrew Smith (Mt Gravatt)a

2 – Isaac Corvo (Wilston Grange)

1 – Dylan Reid (Wilston Grange)

Labrador v Broadbeach

10 – Jake Hinds (Broadbeach)

7 – Benji Neal (Broadbeach)

5 – Alexander Aurrichio (Broadbeach)

5 – Alex McKay (Labrador)

2 – Blake Erickson (Broadbeach)

1 – Harry Arnold (Broadbeach)

Morningside v Sandgate

10 – Ryan Dadds (Morningside)

6 – Nathan Beck (Morningside)

6 – Samuel Godfrey (Morningside)

6 – Brad Hodge (Morningside)

1 – Mitchell Crawley (Sandgate)

1 – Henry Joyce (Morningside)


28 – Jason Burge (Palm Beach Currumbin)

19 – Thomas Thynne (Palm Beach Currumbin)

18 – Henry Joyce (Morningside)

17 – Gareth Crawford (Western Magpies)

17 – Jackson Fisher (Broadbeach)

17 – Alex McKay (Labrador)

16 – John Anthony (Palm Beach Currumbin)

15 – Jack Goodall (Western Magpies)

15 – Jack Yelland (Surfers Paradise)

13 – Tyler Cornish (Palm Beach Currumbin)

13 – Mitchell McKee (Wilston Grange)

Our Supporters