Queensland Blaze team announced

State team announced at Queensland Primary Schools State Championships

Metropolitan North have taken out the recent Queensland Primary Schools Australian Football State Championships for 2012.

In cold, wet and windy conditions at Southport, teams from around the state battled through atrocious conditions over the five day carnival, 9th – 13th June.

Conditions were so bad, the Tuesday of the carnival was cancelled due to the ground closure, with organisers forced to deal with the last minute change and reschedule games for the final day.

The rest day gave boys a chance to rest their weary muscles and then finish off the carnival with fresh legs on the Wednesday.

The final day of competition also included the announcement of a Queensland Country team, with the best players from country Queensland taking on the South Coast team in an exhibition match at the end of the day’s play.

The following boys were selected in the Country team: Roly Brosnan, Aston Campbell, Tom Matthews, Eric Rattray, Angus Jakins (Darling Downs); Sean Finn, Kirk Koenen, Ryan Gilmore, Gracen Sproule (Northern); Ben Stubbs, Lachlan Hall, Taj Jones, Jo Marshall (Wide Bay); Brandon Deslandes, Caleb Graham, Riley Maher, Max Culpitt, Oliver Koch (Peninsula); Tyrell Lafituanai, Rory Tarlington, Luke Bain (Capricornia); Zane Stallon, Phillip Solomon (Crusaders).

The pinnacle of the championships was the announcement of this year’s Queensland Blaze State Team, to represent Queensland at the upcoming School Sport Australia Championships in Adelaide from 21st – 29th July.

Congratulations to the following boys who were selected: Tom MATTHEWS (Our Lady of the Southern Cross College, Dalby) (Darling Downs); Darcy MARSH (Anglican Church Grammar), Adam PEAK (St Lawrence’s College) (Met East); Cody STACKELBERG (Eatons Hill SS), Corey GLADDISH (Mitchelton SS), Jonah MEAD (Murrumba State College), Connor McFADYEN (Our Lady of the Angels), Ray EASTON (Patricks Road SS) (Met North); Caleb FRANKS (Chapel Hill SS), Angus IRVINE (Kenmore SS) (Met West); Dirk KOENEN (Cathedral School) (Northern); Oliver KOCH (Freshwater SS) (Peninsula); Corey BEAMAN (Caningeraba SS), Lachlan McDONALD (Coomera SS), Matthew SMITH (Somerset College), Bailey SCOTT (St Andrews Lutheran), Lachlan TORPY (Tallebudgera SS) (South Coast); Tom ANSELL (Coolum SS), Jasper BRAIN (Pomona SS), Loki HAINES (St Andrews School), Connor WELSH (Tewantin SS), J’Khobi SHAW (St Thomas More College) (Sunshine Coast); Taj JONES (Nanango SS) (Wide Bay).

And congratulations to the following secondary students selected as Queensland Team Umpires, who will also travel with the team to Adelaide: Joseph NEWSHAM (Kirwan SHS) (Northern), Chloe WALLINGTON (Lourdes Hill) (Met East).

Our Supporters