NQ name final team for SQ clash

North Queensland has named a 23-man team to play South Queensland this Sunday June 8.
The South Queensland vs. North Queensland match is part of a revamped state representative program that will see a triple header played at Brisbane’s new $14 million Moreton Bay Regional Sports Complex – AFL Precinct.

The South Queensland team – comprising players from the QFA, QAFA, Darling Downs and Wide Bay leagues – will take on the best North Queensland players from Cairns, Capricornia, Mackay, Mount Isa and Townsville.

The Queensland Australian Football League (QAFL) will play the Victorian Amateur Football Association (VAFA),  while a women’s All-Stars game will see the state’s best 44 players vying for a spot in the Queensland state squad.

North Queensland Coach Barry Gibson said selectors were extremely pleased with the quality of the playing group.

“It represents a good mix of youth, experience, versatility, size and pace,” said Gibson.
“It’s also very pleasing that we have a number of players that are North Queensland born and bred, which speaks volumes of the efforts by many in developing local NQ talent.

“The match represents the great unknown in terms of the opposition, so we have chosen a group that we believe is incredibly versatile and able to deal with whatever may eventuate throughout the course of the game.”

Gibson said the level of enthusiasm from players in representing their region had been overwhelming.

“It gives us great confidence that the 22 selected players will gel well together and be committed to executing our game plan,” he said.

North Cairns’ gun Kane Richter will captain the North Queensland team.

“In Kane we know have someone who is great leader of men and will lead by example out on the ground,” said Gibson.


Nathan Peters                   North Mackay Saints                    Mackay
Michael Fisher (vc)            Mooranbah Bulldogs                      Mackay
Bradley Smith                   Mackay City Hawks                      MacKay
Jason Di Betta                  Hermit Park Tigers                        Townsville
Tyson Payne                    Glenmore Bulls                             Capricornia
Adam Mueller                   North Cairns                                 Cairns
Scott Rowe                       North Cairns                                 Cairns
Kane Richter (capt)            North Cairns                                 Cairns
Clint Guy                          Centrals Trinity                             Cairns
Adam Boone                     Port Douglas                                Cairns
Jesse Dixon                      Cairns Saints                                Cairns
Matthew Walsh (vc)           Cairns Saints                                Cairns
Jack Philp                         Cairns Saints                                Cairns
Tim Lamprill                      Cairns Saints                                 Cairns
Jermaine Wardle               South Cairns                                  Cairns
Joshua Hegarty                South Cairns                                   Cairns
Zac Ewer                         South Cairns                                   Cairns
Luke Donohoe                  South Cairns                                   Cairns
William English                South Cairns                                   Cairns
Michael Paul (vc)              City Lions                                       Cairns
Duncan Seden                 City Lions                                       Cairns
Cameron Adam                City Lions                                       Cairns
Cameron Duffy                 Manunda Hawks                              Cairns
Coach:                           Barry Gibson                                   Townsville
Assistant Coach:            John Tootell                                      Cairns   
Assistant Coach:            David Harding                                   Mackay
Assistant Coach:            Nick Braybon                                   Cairns   
Runner:                          Jamie Fogg                                     Townsville

Our Supporters