Nudgee go back-to-back

St Joseph’s Nudgee College are the 2014 Jason Dunstall Cup Premiers following their 12.11.83 to 7.7.49 win over Brisbane Boys’ College Friday night at Yeronga.

Nudgee’s First XVIII endured a strong fight from College, with BBC forward Charlie Pershouse keeping his team in touch, kicking a goal midway through the second quarter, bringing the margin back to a point and the College cheer squad to their feet.

But the mighty blue and white really took control of the game just before half time, kicking consecutive goals to take a 25 point lead into the main break.

It was Nudgee’s Josh Elsmlie who couldn’t be stopped all night, kicking a bag of goals to finish with six for the game, adding to the eventual 34 point victory.

Elmslie’s feat of back-to-back Best on Ground medallions mirrored his team’s achievement of back-to-back First XVIII premierships and their seventh since the competition’s inception in 1991.

College’s Tom Jellie was outstanding and worked hard all night, a key figure around the congested footy and giving BBC plenty of run.

The Jason Dunstall Cup capped off a night of GPS Division grand finals, following on from the Year 8, Year 9 and Year 10 finals held prior.

In the Year 10 Stephen Lawrence Shield, BBC kept their undefeated record intact, staving off a strong first half challenge from Nudgee to run way with a 52 point victory, 12.7.79 to 3.2.20.

BBC’s Max Webber and Jack Clayton were everywhere, with Webber awarded the Best on Ground medallion.

The Year 9 Clint Bizzell Cup went to Nudgee with another undefeated performance and convincing victory over BBC 12.6.78 to 2.3.15.

Nudgee’s Connor McFadyen was awarded the Best on Ground medallion following his strong performance.

Finally the Year 8 Robin Hull Cup was won by BBC, with James Ward leading his team with a best on ground performance to defeat Nudgee 7.4.46 to 1.6.12.

This concluded the first of the Queensland Independent Schools AFL (QISAFL) divisions for 2014, with the AIC (early Term 3) and other independent schools to follow midway through Term 3.

The Gold Coast’s Clark Keating Cup and the Sunshine Coast’s Josh Drummond Cup will start later next Term.

Our Supporters