Favourites take QFA flags

Mayne survived a late scare to finish off a perfect season and take home the QFA North premiership cup, their first flag in 32 years.
The Tigers, who have not lost all year, were on the ropes at the final change, trailing Noosa by five points, before storming home to a 16.12 (108) – 10.15 (75) win.

A seven-goal to one final term handed Mayne the win, ignited by a Henry Leong goal, five minutes into the last quarter, which put his side in front.

From there, they never looked back, with four unanswered goals to start the final exchanges, before  Noosa pegged one back.

Three goals in a row to finish off the game sealed the flag for Mayne, though, with Luke Faulkner booting their final major of the season.

Eight goals to Faulkner earned him the Mick Nolan Medal, to go on top of his Duncanson Medal as the league’s best and fairest and the league’s goal kicking medal.

Playing coach, Shaun Daly, was one of the best for the Tigers in their comeback win, along with Sam Paterson, Fraser Thompson and Leong all up there in the drought-breaking win.

James Gellie kicked three for Noosa in the premiership decider, with Thomas McKitrick the best for the runners-up.


Springwood overcame the hurdle they couldn’t in 2013, claiming their first premiership since 2002, with a 15.29 (119) – 10.10 (70) win over Burleigh.

After a relatively tight first quarter, which saw the Pumas with a 12 point lead, Springwood edged their way in front as the match went on.

It was the final quarter when they really broke the grand final open, with a six goal to three final term, stretching a 28 point margin to 49 points.

Luke O’Shea finished with five goals for Springwood, while Blake Wallis, Albert proud and Dean Gentle were all impressive in the Pumas’ win.

Zaine Pringle won the Bill Ryan Medal with a super performance for the Pumas in the flag decider.

Burleigh’s Nathan Sullivan booted five for the Bombers, while Nicholas O’Reilly was a standout for the runners-up on the day.

The grand final berth was a remarkable turnaround for Burleigh, after they went through the 2013 season without a win.

This was the second consecutive season that The Pumas had gone through the regular season with just one loss, reaching the grand final in 201, before going down to Palm Beach.

The premiership caps off a fairy tale 35th anniversary year for Springwood, capping off two seasons of incredible improvement.

Our Supporters