Dr Alan Mackenzie has been named the ninth ‘legend’ in the Queensland Football Hall of Fame.

Monday, 23 May, 2011

Dr Alan Mackenzie has been named the ninth ‘legend’ in the Queensland Football Hall of Fame.

This massive honor was bestowed upon the long-serving Southport president and Queensland football icon at a function on Saturday night to celebrate Southport’s 50-Year anniversary.

AFL Queensland chairman Darryl Bray made the announcement at this gala event following the decision of the Hall of Fame selection committee.

The presentation will be more formally done at the end of season Grogan Medal, when other 2011 inductees will be announced.

‘Doc’, as Mackenzie is widely known, is the second ‘new’ legend alongside fellow Southport man Marcus Ashcroft to be added to the initial seven legends declared at the Hall of Fame launch in October 2008.

They have followed Michael Voss, Leigh Matthews, Jason Dunstall, Tom McArthur, Dick Verdon, Arthur Collinson and Harry O’Callaghan.

Mackenzie’s elevation is recognition of a life-time of service to the game.

He has been president at Southport for more than 37 years after a distinguished playing career and has also served the code with distinction as a volunteer medical officer, coach, selector and administrator.

Also, he was a key player in the establishment of the Gold Coast Suns as the AFL’s 17th franchise, and presently sits on the club’s Board of Directors.

A born and bred Queenslander, Mackenzie was a foundation junior player with Sherwood and played 110 Queensland Australian Football League games with neighbouring Western Districts (1964-70).

He represented Queensland at 19 and captained Wests at 23 before an injury-forced retirement the next year.

He graduated in medicine from the University of Queensland in 1969, and after moving to the Gold Coast in 1972 has operated a full-time general practice in Surfers Paradise for 38 years.

He was elected Southport president in November 1973 aged 27 after the club’s executive committee resigned suddenly and has overseen the growth of arguably Australia’s No.1 domestic football operation.

Under his direction the former Southport Magpies, a powerhouse in the Gold Coast competition, stepped up as the Southport Sharks into the now AFL Queensland State League in 1983.

In 37 completed years as president he has seen his club play in 29 senior grand finals for 18 premierships while the licensed club has grown into a much-admired $20million business.

He served the Brisbane Bears/Lions for six years (1992-98) as club doctor, selector and match committee chairman, and has filled countless similar roles with the Allies State of Origin side, Queensland Open and junior representative teams, and Gold Coast representative teams.

A Life Member of AFL Queensland, he received the Australian Sports Medal (2000), the AFL Merit Award (2003) and was the inaugural recipient of the Gold Coast Bulletin Sports Award (2003).

He was among the GC17 Bid Team which secured the Suns’ license, and continues to fill a dual role as a director and, via the Sharks, as a major financial backer.

Our Supporters