7 Queenslanders to test at Draft Combine

Seven Queenslanders have been invited to the 23014 AFL National Draft Combine, off the back of a strong nationals campaign.
Three over agers have been rewarded for their strong seasons, with 19 year-olds Braydon Preuss, Nick Jackson and Matt Uebergang all invited to the combine.
Aspley’s Harris Andrews’ breakout season has earned him a call up to the combine, which forms a major part in the draft process.
AFL Academy trio Liam Dawson, Lachie Weller and Mat Hammelmann rounded out the combine invitees.
These seven have been among Queensland’s top performers all season, catching the eye of AFL recruiters with their form.
The AFL Draft Combine sees players tested over a range of disciplines, including basic skills and fitness, as well as being interviewed by AFL clubs over a week.
AFL Manager Talent and Academies Mark Browning said he was pleased with this year’s number, which is almost double that of that of the past two years, which saw four Queenslanders snag a combine invitation.
This is a fantastic result, for Queensland and particularly for the boys selected, “said Browning.
“it’s a great reflection of the quality of the talent program that has been provided this year.”
The 2014 crop follow in the footsteps of Archie Smith, Jono Freeman, Jared Ellis and Fraser Thurlow, all of whom are now on AFL lists.
Other Queensland hopefuls will have a chance to show their stuff at the state screening in early October.
Here is the full list of players invited to the 2014 National Combine:


Harris Andrews             Aspley
Liam Dawson               Aspley
Matt Hammelmann       Morningside
Nick Jackson                Aspley
Braydon Preuss            Surfers Paradise / Townsville
Matthew Uebergang    Ipswich/Western Magpies
Lachie Weller               Southport / Broadbeach

Logan Austin                Belconnen
Nick Coughlan              Murray Bushrangers
Abe Davis                     UNSW-Easts
Tom Faul                      Ainslie
Jeremy Finlayson         Hills Eagles
Isaac Heeney               Cardiff
Jack Hiscox                  Sydney Uni
Brydan Hodgson          Murray Bushrangers
Dougal Howard            Murray Bushrangers
Michael Mattingly          Corowa-Rutherglen
Tyler Roos                    Sandringham Dragons
Jack Steele                   Belconnen

Nakia Cockatoo            NT Thunder

Peter Bampton             Norwood
Caleb Daniel                South Adelaide
Sam Durdin                  West Adelaide
Brett Eddy                    South Adelaide
Josh Glenn                   Central Districts
Dean Gore                   Sturt
Cory Gregson               Glenelg
Declan Hamilton           Port Adelaide
Oleg Markov                 North Adelaide
Alex Neal-Bullen           Glenelg
Keenan Ramsey           Port Adelaide
Tom Read                     Sturt
James Rose                 Sturt
Billy Stretch                  Glenelg
Harrison Wigg              North Adelaide

Josh McGuinness          Lauderdale


Daniel Butler                North Ballarat Rebels
Christian Buykx-Smith  Gippsland Power
Daniel Capiron             Gippsland Power
Zaine Cordy                 Geelong Falcons
Jordan Cunico              Gippsland Power
Nathan Drummond       Murray Bushrangers
Hugh Goddard             Geelong Falcons
Daniel Howe                Murray Bushrangers
Tom Lamb                    Dandenong Stingrays
Jack Lonie                    Dandenong Stingrays
Caleb Marchbank         Murray Bushrangers
Rowan Marshall           North Ballarat Rebels
Patrick McCartin           Geelong Falcons
Jaden McGrath             Bendigo Pioneers
Jackson Nelson            Geelong Falcons
Lukas Webb                 Gippsland Power

Paul Ahern                   Calder Cannons
Angus Brayshaw          Sandringham Dragons
Jason Castagna           Northern Knights
Damien Cavka             Calder Cannons
Josh Clayton                Sandringham Dragons
Jordan De Goey          Oakleigh Chargers
Harry Dear                   Sandringham Dragons
Liam Duggan               Western Jets
Corey Ellis                   Western Jets
Matthew Goodyear      Calder Cannons
Billy Gowers                Oakleigh Chargers
Ed Langdon                 Sandringham Dragons
Kyle Langford              Northern Knights
Jayden Laverde           Western Jets
Jake Lever                   Calder Cannons
Brayden Maynard         Sandringham Dragons
Daniel McKenzie          Oakleigh Chargers
Reece McKenzie          Northern Knights
Connor Menadue         Western Jets
Touk Miller                    Calder Cannons
Darcy Moore                Oakleigh Chargers
Daniel Nielson              Eastern Ranges
Brenton Payne            Western Jets
Christian Petracca       Eastern Ranges
Marc Pittonet               Oakleigh Chargers
Ed Vickers-Willis          Sandringham Dragons
Dillon Viojo-Rainbow    Western Jets
Peter Wright                 Calder Cannons


Aidan Anderson           Swan Districts
Connor Blakely             Swan Districts
Jack Cripps                   East Fremantle
Josh Deluca                  Subiaco
Billy Frampton              South Fremantle
Jarrod Garlett               South Fremantle
Tyler Keitel                   East Perth
Mitch McGovern           Claremont
Jermaine Miller-Lewis   South Fremantle
Jarrod Pickett               South Fremantle
Clem Smith                   Perth
Francis Watson            Claremont


Marvin Baynham          USA
Paddy Brophy              Ireland
Evan Bruinsma             USA
Connor McKenna          Ireland

Our Supporters