7 new teams in QWAFA fixture release

Seven new teams will enter the Queensland Women’s Amateur Football Association (QWAFA) in 2016, more than double the number of teams compared to last year.

Thirteen teams feature in the 16 round home and away fixture, which was released today.

Broadbeach, Maroochydore, Kedron, Yeronga, Pine Rivers, Coolangatta and Aspley, will all enter a team in the QWAFA for the first time this year.

They will join the six teams from 2015, Moreton Bay, Jindlee, UQ, Burleigh, Bond University and Zillmere, who have all re-entered.
The QWAFA is competition for new and developing players, which provides females the opportunity to learn the game, play socially, or develop their skills before moving into the QWAFL, the Queensland female state league competition.

Yeronga, UQ, Coolangatta and Zillmere will all have teams in both the QWAFL and QWAFA this year, showing the strength of female participation rates in South East Queensland.

The fixture includes highlights such as the grand final rematch between reining premier Zillmere and Moreton Bay in round 3.

Aspley will play their first game in the competition in round 2 following a round 1 bye, when they host Pine Rivers.

Before that game is played, Kedron and Coolangatta will raise the curtain in a double-header, played in conjunction with the opening of the new Brendale facility.

The fixture also includes a triple-header in round 12 at Yeronga, where six teams will play back-to-back-to-back.

AFL Queensland Community Club Development Manager for Female Football and the QFA, Fiona Jones, is ecstatic with the numbers.

“To more than double the number of teams in the competition over summer is an amazing result,” Jones said.

“With the National Women’s League just a year away, it’s great to see so many new participants entering our game at grass roots level.

“With teams from Maroochydore to Coolangatta, the QWAFA is going to be the perfect place to have some fun and learn the game in 2016.”
The season begins on April 23, before four-week finals series kicks off on August 21.

For the full fixture, please click HERE.

By Andrew Wiles

Our Supporters