AFL Queensland will have a new Women’s League premier this year for the first time in six years.

Tuesday 16 August 2011

AFL Queensland will have a new Women’s League premier this year for the first time in six years.

This is after five-in-a-row winners Logan were bundled out of the 2011 premiership race in the preliminary final at Kedron last Sunday, leaving Yeronga to meet Morningside in the flag decider.

The grand final will be played at Coorparoo at 12noon this Sunday (21 August) after being switched today from first-choice venue Moorooka.

Yeronga ended Logan’s extraordinary run with a 26-point preliminary final, withstanding a mini rally from the defending premiers in the final stanza to win 9-8 (62) to 5-6 (36).

Yeronga led 1-0 to 0-1 after a tight first quarter but took charge of the game when they added 4-3 to 0-1 in the second term.

They had the game safely in their keeping when the scoreboard showed 8-5 to 1-4 at three-quarter time, but Logan, with such a proud tradition, regained lost pride when they outscored the victors 4-2 to 1-4 in the final yerm.

Kate Lutkins was best afield for Yeronga, while Heidi Thompson, Emily Wastle, Kylie Welsh, Katie Brennan and Cleo Davis also played well for the winners.

Brennan and Alex Smith topped the goal tally for Yeronga with three apiece, while Lutkins, Renee Harvey and Jessie Hogg kicked singles.

Best for Logan were Laura Stampa, Indy Sleeth, Kellie Hopkins, Jocinta Sleeth, Jade Pregelj, Kate Henson and Jessica Croft.

Kimberley Sewell was the only multiple goal-kicker for Logan with two, while Hopkins, Sleeth and Jodie Ingleton kicked one each.

Morningside, who topped the home-and-away ladder with a 12-1 win/loss record, will be looking to repeat their semi-final win over Yeronga, when they got home 6-8 (44) to 3-5 (23).

Queensland representatives in the Morningside line-up who will be key figures in the grand final are Emma Zielke, Emma Best and Sharee Sayle.

All-Australian star Brennan (pictured) will be crucial for Yeronga, who went 10-2 through the home-and-away season, along with Queensland teammates Davis, Thompson and Lutkins.

Our Supporters