The Syd Guildford Trophy count goes into camera for the next four weeks, with Danny Wise currently holding a slender lead over Cameron Ilett.

Friday 23 July 2010

Southport skipper Danny Wise holds a four-vote lead over NT Thunder midfielder Cameron Ilett as voting for the Syd Guildford Trophy goes secret for the last month of the QAFL season.

Wise must have only narrowly missed the votes in the Sharks’ loss to Southport last weekend, while Ilett was unable to make any ground in the Thunder’s big win over the NT Thunder.

Another Shark in Darren Pfeiffer and Broadbeach co-captain Dayne Zorko are the other two realistic chances of stealing the trophy, sitting nine votes adrift of Wise with four matches to play.

Wise, the State captain, has been in outstanding touch and will take some running down, with the voting appearing more likely a race in two between he and Ilett.

Pfeiffer moved to within striking distance by picking up three votes against Morningside.

The big mover of Round 14 was Morningside midfield utility Damien Bonney, whose best afield effort for the second week running launched him to 18 votes and a share of seventh place.

He was joined on 18 by Redland skipper Phil Carse, who was best-on-ground against the Brisbane Lions, and Aaron Rogers – the only defender in the top 12 – following his four-vote haul against Southport.

Labrador v Aspley

5 Votes Steve Wrigley  Labrador
4 Votes Peter Everitt  Labrador
3 Votes Brent Evans  Aspley
2 Votes Todd Featherstone  Labrador
1 Vote Mat Trewhella  Aspley

Mt Gravatt v Broadbeach

5 Votes Nathan Gilliland  Mt Gravatt
4 Votes John James  Mt Gravatt
3 Votes Jake Furfaro  Mt Gravatt
2 Votes Darryl White  Mt Gravatt
1 Vote Nathan Quick  Broadbeach

NT Thunder v Western Magpies

5 Votes Bradley Palipuaminni  Thunder
4 Votes Charlie Maher  Thunder
3 Votes Shannon Rusca  Thunder
2 Votes Luke Tyrrell  Thunder
1 Vote Ed McDonnell  Magpies

Morningside v Southport

5 Votes Damien Bonney  Morningside
4 Votes Aaron Rogers  Morningside
3 Votes Darren Pfeiffer  Southport
2 Votes Ryan Holman  Morningside
1 Vote Adam Devine  Southport

Redland v Brisbane Lions Reserves

5 Votes Phil Carse  Redland
4 Votes Aaron Cornelius  Lions
3 Votes Bryce Retzlaff  Lions
2 Votes Blake Passfield  Redland
1 Vote James Charlesworth  Redland

Rd 14 Leaders:
31: Danny Wise (Southport)
27: Cameron Ilett (NT Thunder)
22: Dayne Zorko (Broadbeach) 
22: Darren Pfeiffer (Southport)
19: Jamie Sheahan (Aspley)
19: Jacob Gough (Morningside) 
18: Matt Shir (Aspley)
18: Damien Bonney (Morningside)
18: Phil Carse (Redland)
17: Todd Featherstone (Labrador)
16: Aaron Rogers (Morningside)
16: Nathan Gilliland (Mt Gravatt)

Our Supporters