Two Queenslanders in national combine

Jono Freeman and Archie Smith have been invited to the 2013 National AFl Draft Combine.

Two Queenslanders have been invited to the national draft combine, to be held in October.

Aspley’s Jono Freeman and Mt Gravatt’s Archie Smith were selected to attend the combine, on the back of strong rep seasons.

Freeman was one of the Scorpions’ standout players, particularly in the Div 1 games, playing as an over-ager.

AFL Talent Academies manager – QLD and NSW, Mark Browning, said it was great to see Freeman be recognised.

“It’s fantastic to see Jono and Archie be invited to the combine,” he said.

“Jono’s persistence and effort has really paid off this season and it’s really good to see him rewarded for that.”

Freeman, based on the Sunshine Coast, impressed with his marking abilities early in the Scorpions’ season, before an injury ruled him out of the final rounds of the national championships.

Smith has made a swift impact on Aussie Rules, after switching from basketball in late 2012.

Having played less than 20 senior games, Smith has improved quickly, showing talent in the ruck for the Vultures and the Queensland U18 side.

Smith was one of Queensland’s most consistent players through the nationals campaign, and could follow in the footsteps of numerous other former basketballers if he is picked up this year.

The NT’s Errin Wasley-Black and Daniel Cox, who both play in the NEAFL Northern Conference, were also invited to the combine.

Wasley-Black has impressed for the Thunder this season, and is a highly rated potential draftee.

Cox debuted for the Thunder in Rd 11 this season.

Here is the full list of players invited to the 2013 AFL National Draft Combine.

Other Queensland hopefuls will have a chance to show their stuff at the state screening in Melbourne in early October.


Isaiah Miller, Bendigo Pioneers

James Harmes, Dandenong Stingrays

Billy Hartung, Dandenong Stingrays

Zak Jones, Dandenong Stingrays

Nick Bourke, Geelong Falcons

Aaron Christensen, Geelong Falcons

Fraser Fort, Geelong Falcons

Darcy Gardiner, Geelong Falcons

Darcy Lang, Geelong Falcons

Lewis Taylor, Geelong Falcons

James Tsitas, Geelong Falcons

Jack Leslie, Gippsland Power

Nathan Drummond, Murray Bushrangers

Nick Holman, Murray Bushrangers

Jarman Impey, Murray Bushrangers

Sam Bennett, North Ballarat Rebels

Matt Crouch, North Ballarat Rebels

Louis Herbert, North Ballarat Rebels

Dallas Willsmore, North Ballarat Rebels


Michael Apeness, Eastern Ranges

Tom Boyd, Eastern Ranges

Mitch Honeychurch, Eastern Ranges

Daniel McStay, Eastern Ranges

Marcus Bontempelli, Northern Knights

Cameron Conlon, Northern Knights

Ben Lennon, Northern Knights

Jack Billings, Oakleigh Chargers

Darcy Byrne-Jones, Oakleigh Chargers

Tom Cutler, Oakleigh Chargers

Aiden Franetic, Oakleigh Chargers

Jay Kennedy-Harris, Oakleigh Chargers

Will Maginness, Oakleigh Chargers

Karl Amon, Sandringham Dragons

Nathan Freeman, Sandringham Dragons

Josh Kelly, Sandringham Dragons

Tom Langdon, Sandringham Dragons

Zac Merrett, Sandringham Dragons

Christian Salem, Sandringham Dragons

Alex Spencer, Sandringham Dragons

James Sicily, Western Jets



Sam Lloyd, Frankston

Chris Cain, Port Melbourne

Ben Brown, Werribee

Luke McDonald, Werribee


Josh Glenn, Central Districts

Jake Pitt, Glenelg

Matthew Scharenberg, Glenelg

Nathan Gordon, North Adelaide

Mitch Harvey, North Adelaide

George Hewett, North Adelaide

Alex Spina, North Adelaide

James Aish, Norwood

Trent Dumont, Norwood

Orazio Fantasia, Norwood

Sean Lemmens, Port Adelaide

Luke Reynolds, Port Adelaide

Darcy Hourigan, South Adelaide

James Battersby, Sturt

Dwayne Wilson, Sturt

Zac Bates, West Adelaide

Luke Dunstan, Woodville West Torrens

Cameron Giles, Woodville West Torrens

Malcolm Karpany, Woodville West Torrens

Riley Knight, Woodville West Torrens


Tom Barrass, Claremont

Darcy Cameron, Claremont

Steven Edwards, Claremont

Richard  Bourne, East Fremantle

Patrick    Cripps, East Fremantle

Jarrad Jansen, East Fremantle

Jonathon Marsh, East Fremantle    

Thomas Hodgson, East Perth          

Blaine Johnson, South Fremantle  

Dylan Main, South Fremantle          

Cameron McCarthy, South Fremantle

Tom Vandeleuer, South Fremantle

Dom Sheed, Subiaco

Michael  Wood, Subiaco

Charlie   Cameron, Swan Districts

Dayle Garlett, Swan Districts

Rory Lobb, Swan Districts

Blake Acres, West Perth

Nick Robertson, West Perth


Jake Barrett, Temora

Kieran Ellis, Murray Bushrangers

Michael Gibbons, Murray Bushrangers

Max King, Murray Bushrangers


Daniel Cox, Southern Districts

Errin Wasley-Black, NT Thunder


Jonathan Freeman, Aspley

Archie Smith, Mt Gravatt


Brady Grey, Burnie Dockers             

Kade Kolodjashnij, Launceston

Jake Kolodjashnij, Launceston

Toby Nankervis, North Launceston

Alex Pearce, Devonport

Eli Templeton, Burnie Dockers

Zac Webster, Glenorchy

Our Supporters