Two in a row for Coorparoo

Coorparoo claimed the second back-to-back premiership on QAFL and QWAFL grand final day, beating Zillmere 7.8 (50) – 2.5 (17).

It was their second premiership in a row, but it wasn’t the heart stopper of last year, with the Roos taking control from the get go.

In 2013, captain, Emma Zielke, was the hero, but it was Megan Hunt who stood up this time around, earning her the best on ground performance.

A spectacular snap across the body for goal was the icing on a terrific performance for Hunt.

The 2014 Queensland representative found herself plenty of space in the grand final and took advantage of that, taking the game on.

The Navy Roos had the lead early in the match, dominating the opening exchanges.

Coorparoo held a 12-point lead at half-time, with seven more scoring shots for the half.

Two quick goals for Coorparoo in the third term, to Dania Herdman (three goals) and Kaitlyn Cantrell, gave them some crucial momentum, and stretched the margin to 24 points at the final change.

Zillmere found their chances through the match, but couldn’t convert those opportunities into scoring shots.

Herdman ignited the Navy Roos again in the final term, kicking her first of two final quarter goals, from the pocket to give her side a 29-point win, before a quick reply from Zillmere’s Cassi Bell.

Ally Anderson kept Coorparoo captain, Zielke, relatively quiet for much of the day, in a pivotal role for the Eagles, while her sister ,Mikayla Anderson also battled hard all day.

Rachel Smith was another sensational player for the Navy Roos, with the hard-running midfielder ending her season in the best way possible.

The Navy Roos lost just one game in their 2014 season, to the Eagles in Rd 2, but since then they proved the dominant side in the QWAFL competition.

Our Supporters