Ten Queenslanders named in NAB AFL National Academy Allies squad

The AFL has today announced the initial squad of 30 players for the 2019 NAB AFL National Academy Allies that will compete at the NAB National Championships next year.

Following the departure of coach Adrian Fletcher, the Allies team in 2019 will be coached by premiership player and current AFL Academy Manager Luke Power.

The 30 players were chosen from the four different Allied states and includes 20 top age and ten bottom age players.

Queenslanders have been represented healthily in the initial squad as the Brisbane Lions and Gold Coast SUNS contribute twelve players total in the team.

The initial squad will be given the opportunity to train for at least one week with an AFL club while also attending a high-performance camp in Canberra from January 20-25.

Following the early portions of the 2019 season, the initial Allies squad will be extended with the addition of 20 more players in May.

The 20 players will be selected based on form and fitness throughout the early part of the season and the new combined squad will play in practice matches against Victoria Country and Victoria Metro.

From there, the squad will represent the Allies at the NAB Under 18 National Championships later in the year.

AFL Queensland would like to congratulate the following on their inclusion into the National Academy Allies squad for 2019.


Brisbane Lions Academy

Tom Griffiths

Will Martyn

Bruce Reville

Kobe Tozer

Saxon Crozier


Gold Coast SUNS Academy

Connor Budarick

Ashton Crossley

Hewago Paul-Oea (PNG)

Alex Davies

Jack Johnston


Our Supporters