Burton earns ten Syd Guildford Votes in Cats comeback

Broadbeach star Nicholas Burton has once again proved his worth as a fast starter this QAFL season by collecting an equal round-high ten Syd Guildford Trophy votes in the Cat’s one point win over Mt Gravatt.

One year after polling the maximum ten votes in the Cats’ first home game of the 2018 season, Burton again starred on home soil as a driving force in the team’s first win of the season.

After playing mainly as a forward in 2018 where he earned Team of the Year honours, Burton has been deployed in the midfield by new coach Beau Zorko.

The 25-year-old worked tirelessly in the middle alongside Jackson Fisher (six votes) and ruckman Tom Betson to spur Broadbeach to victory.

Mt Gravatt pair Sam Stubbs (six) and James Markham (also six) both features prominently in the votes while match-winner Josh Searl (two) and Andrew Smith (one) rounded out the game.

Emerging Western Magpies ruckman Aaron Highlands was the second player to receive the maximum ten from the coaches after starring in the Magpies’ win over Labrador at McCarthy Homes Oval.

Highlands, 22, was instrumental in the home side’s second half demolition of the Tigers and showed a knack for drifting forward and hitting the scoreboard with three majors to his name.

Swingman Jack Goodall (seven) and Luca Winton (six) also earned the praise of both coaches while Labrador pair Lachlan Davison (three) and Alex McKay (two) were the only Tigers players to feature.

A contingent of Palm Beach Currumbin players have dominated the votes in the Lions’ Round 2 win over Sandgate.

Utility Nicholas Crowley (nine) topped the votes ahead of midfield pair Jason Burge (six) and Jesse Derrick (five) while Dylan Troutman’s second game in Lions colours since his return yielded and impressive four votes.

Sandgate trio Luke Bradford (two), Mitchell Crawley and Jordan Maynard (both one) were also rewarded for their respective efforts as the Hawks produced the round’s fourth highest score in the loss.

Votes were split in the Demons’ narrow win over Morningside as current leader Henry Joyce, reigning Std Guildford Trophy winner Cass Haberfield and Panther veteran Nathan Beck all polled seven votes each.

The trio were followed by Demons trio Jack Prestegar (four) and Matthew Green (three).  

 Related: Round 1 Syd Guildford Votes


Broadbeach v Mt Gravatt

10 – Nicholas Burton (Broadbeach)

6 – Jackson Fisher (Broadbeach)

6 – Samuel Stubbs (Mt Gravatt)

5 – James Markham (Mt Gravatt)

2 – Joshua Searl (Broadbeach)

1 – Andrew Smith (Mt Gravatt)


Western Magpies v Labrador

10 – Aaron Highlands (Western Magpies)

7 – Jack Goodall (Western Magpies)

6 – Luca Winton (Western Magpies)

3 – Lachlan Davidson (Labrador)

2 – Alex McKay (Labrador)

1 – Callum Carseldine (Western Magpies)

1 – Drew Mitchell (Western Magpies)


Sandgate v Palm Beach Currumbin

9 – Nicholas Crowley (Palm Beach Currumbin)

6 – Jason Burge (Palm Beach Currumbin)

5 – Jesse Derrick (Palm Beach Currumbin)

4 – Dylan Troutman (Palm Beach Currumbin)

2 – Luke Bradford (Sandgate)

2 – Tyler Cornish (Palm Beach Currumbin)

1 – Mitchell Crawley (Sandgate)

1 – Jordan Maynard (Sandgate)


Morningside v Surfers Paradise

7 – Nathan Beck (Morningside)

7 – Cassidy Haberfield (Surfers Paradise)

7 – Henry Joyce (Morningside)

4 – Jack Prestegar (Surfers Paradise)

3 – Matthew Green (Surfers Paradise)

1 – Haydn Kiel (Surfers Paradise)

1 – James Rayner (Morningside)



17 – Henry Joyce (Morningside)

11 – Samuel Stubbs (Mt Gravatt)

10 – Nicholas Burton (Broadbeach)

10 – Aaron Highlands (Western Magpies)

9 – John Anthony (Palm Beach Currumbin)

9 – Nicholas Crowley (Palm Beach Currumbin)

9 – Jackson Fisher (Broadbeach)

9 – Michael Hamill (Mt Gravatt)

8 – Matthew Green (Surfers Paradise)

8 – Bryce Retzlaff (Labrador)


Our Supporters