Stingrays name year’s best players

By Lee Pittavino

Gold Coast SUNS Players Jaeger O’Meara, Tom Nicholls and Leigh Osborne were the guests of honour at the Gold Coast Stingrays Under 14 and Under 16 presentation night at the Southport Sharks Club on Monday.

Winners on the night included Lachlan Macdonald, who claimed the Under 14 Northern Stingrays best and fairest and runner up Harry Simington.

Corey Brauer won the Northern Stingrays Under 14 best team man, while Nick Stiffel was named most improved. 

The best and fairest winner for the Southern Stingrays Under 14s was Sam Davidson with Mitch Olarenshaw was runner up.

The Southern Stingrays Under 14 best team man award went to Brodie Foster and Peter Wischusen claimed the most improved title.

Clay Cox claimed the Under 16 Northern Stingrays best and fairest award after an excellent season in defence while fellow defender Domenic McEwan was named runner up.

The best team man award for the northern side went to Ethan Fava and ruckmen Matthew Dickensen won the most improved award.

In the Southern Stingrays Under 16 side, midfielder Ethan Reeves was the awarded the best and fairest with Max Spencer the runner up.

Kurt Skuse was named the best team man while Jack O’Shea scored the most improved award for the Southern team.

Other winners on the night were Dyson Budarick who won the rising star award and Nathaniel Ellis, Kurt Skuse, Domenic McEwan and Dyson Budarick who were selected in the Queensland Scorpions Under 16 state team.

The coveted 2013 Stingrays All Star team selection went to: Ethan Fava, Clay Cox, Jayden Verdoorn, Lachlan McDonald, Domenic McEwan, Max Spencer, Alby Jones, Dyson Budarick, Fraser Eller, Mitchell Olarenshaw, Chevy Palmer, Harry Simington, Luke Reynolds, Kurt Skuse, Lachy Anderson, Matty Dickenson, Sam Davidson, Ethan Reeves, Corey Beaman, Issac Hay, Jason Lee and Blair Sutton.

Our Supporters