SEQAFL Women’s League Team of the Year

Griffith Moorooka’s Samantha Virgo has been rewarded for a super 2013, with the captaincy of the SEQAFL Women’s League Team of the Year.

Virgo was one of four Griffith Moorooka players to be named in the team, along with Sarah Duncan, Tiarna Ernst and Jenna Vandyk.

The Reds player said she was incredibly honoured to be

“There’s not many words, that’s amazing,” Virgo said.

“There are a lot of good players in the side, the best players in the league.

“I’m pretty overwhelmed.”

Virgo has made an immediate impact in the sport, in her first season playing, and said she wouldn’t be turning her back on the sport anytime soon.

“I’ve played other sports pretty professionally as well but I love it,” she said.

“Footy is my sport of choice.”

Div 1 minor premiers and grand finalists, Yeronga, had three representatives in the side, with Emily Bates, Kate Lutkins and Jordan Zanchetta selected.

Division two grand finalists, Palm Beach, also had three players included in the side, with Tala Zanotti, Naomi Simpson and Leah Kaslar.

The league’s leading goal kicker, Zillmere’s Cassi Bell, made the forward pocket, with teammates Yolanda Jones named on the ball and Rachael Anstey on the bench.

Coorparoo rising star, Maddie Protheroe, is on the half-forward flank, as one of three Navy Roo representatives.

Protheroe’s teammates, Sheena Sidin and Emma Zielke were named in the ruck and on the interchange, respectively.

Kedron sisters Casey and Mica Cubis were both included from the Lions, while Amy Kelly also made it on the half back flank, giving them three representatives.

UQ captain, Tia Bool and speedster, Marikki Watego were the two Red Lionesses included in the best 24, with Bool on the wing and Watego on the interchange.

Caitlyn Huth was the sole Caboolture representative in the side, while fullback Adair Henderson flew the flag for Logan, after a stellar season.

Kedron’s Ron Kemp was awarded the Women’s League coach of the year award for the second year in a row, for his performance mentoring the north side team this season.

Kemp said the biggest challenge in women’s coaching was helping new players develop decision-making skills in a new game.

“Having a lot of new girls, I try to teach them decision making in the game,” he said.

“I rely on my leadership group, and I’ve got a good bunch of experienced girls who’ve helped me this year and would talk to the new girls and give them pointers.”

SEQAFL Women’s League Team of the Year:

B: Tala Zanotti (PBC) Adair Henderson (Logan) Caitlyn Huth (Caboolture)
HB: Naomi Simpson (PBC) Sarah Duncan (Griffith ) Amy Kelly (Kedron)
C: Samantha Virgo (Griffith ) Leah Kaslar (PBC), Tia Bool (UQ)
HF: Maddie Protheroe (Coorparoo) Casey Cubis (Kedron) Mica Cubis (Kedron)
F: Cassi Bell (Zillmere) Caitlin Collins (Yeronga)  Jordan Zanchetta (Yeronga)
Foll: Sheena Sidin (Coorparoo) Kate Lutkins (Yeronga) Yolanda Jones (Zillmere)
Interchange: Tiarna Ernst (Griffith ), Emma Zielke (Coorparoo), Rachael Anstey (Zillmere) , Marikki Watego (UQ),Jenna Vandyk (Griffith )  Emily Bates (Yeronga)

Coach of the year: Ron Kemp (Kedron)

Our Supporters