Queensland Under 17 Team Named for Vic Metro Clash

The AFL Queensland U17 Futures team has been selected ahead of their clash against VIC Metro on Sunday 14 August in Melbourne.
Twenty-four of the state’s most talented 17-year-old footballers will assemble in Brisbane for a short training program before heading to Melbourne for the game.
The players were nominated by their academies.
There are a few names that you may recognise from their dominate Allies performances such as Jed Walter, Jake Rogers and Ethan Read. 
The team will be coached by Mark Pitura as Head Coach and supported by Alex Mitchell from the SUNS Academy and Drew Mitchell and Luke Carroll from the Lions Academy.
Queensland Talent Manager, Mark Browning, said it’s a great opportunity for the boys to showcase their talent.
“It is a great achievement and recognition of the boys’ ability to play AFL at state level,” he said.
“The program is about developing players for the National Championships and hopefully preparing players for State League and AFL level in the future, in a high performance and enjoyable environment. 
“This game also forms a key part of the selection process for the NAB AFL Futures game to be played at the AFL Grand Final Day as a curtain raiser. This will be between a selected 44 players from around the country, which is very exciting.”
The game will be live streamed with streaming details to be announced closer to the match.
Congratulations to the following boys on their selection in the 2022 Queensland U17 Futures Team:

Jed Walter PBC
Jake Rogers Broadbeach
Ethan Read PBC
Will Graham PBC
Finn Hay PBC
Max Masters Broadbeach
Jake Stringer PBC
Charlie Elliot PBC
Noah Cockerell Cairns Saints
Ben O’Brien Yeppoon Swans
Harry Sullivan Sandringham Dragons/Labrador
Caleb Nancarrow Cairns City/Oakleigh Chargers
Billy Richardson Wilston Grange
Bradley McDonald Maroochydore
Elijah Glass Sherwood
Hugo Crawford Morningside
Hunter Moore Maroochydore
Jett Jessen Mt. Gravatt
Koby Young Maroochydore
Maverick Garaicoa Wilston Grange
Nathan Jensen Maroochydore
Patrick Snell  Wilston Grange
Sonny Ashley Maroochydore
Takoda Boltong Maroochydore


Our Supporters