Queensland Football Awards wrap

Mayne’s Luke Faulkner has capped off a record-breaking season, winning the Duncanson Medal as best and fairest in the Queensland Football Association (QFA) North competition, heading a long list of winners at the inaugural Queensland Football Awards.

Faulkner kicked 122 goals in the home and away season for the Tigers, winning the league leading goal kicker award as well.

The Mayne spearhead claimed a tight count, with 22 votes, over his teammate and coach, Shaun Daly, who finished with 20.

Southport legend, Danny Wise, collected the Todd medal as the QFA South best and fairest, as a standout for Burleigh in his first year at the club, winning the count with 26 votes, seven ahead of Springwood’s Albert Proud and Kenmore’s Timothy Plummer.

Wise has previously played for Woodsville West-Torrens and North Adelaide in the SANFL as well as for the Sharks and has captained Queensland and NEAFL representative teams in recent yea

Pine Rivers’ Daniel Dai won the Col Tobiasen Medal as the QAFA (A) best and fairest, while Alan Flower (Griffith Moorooka) snapped up the leading goal kicker gong, with 75 goals.

Zillmere’s Mimi Hoger claimed the inaugural Queensland Women’s Amateur Football Association (QWAFA) best and fairest, by one vote over four runners-up.

Caboolture’s Monique Lepri took out the QWAFA leading goalkicker award and was also named QWAFA coach of the year.

Doug North (Ballina) and Ashley Gemmill (Tweed Coast) shared the John Mason Medal as best and fairest in the QAFA (B) South competition, while Lanze Magin (Pomona) and Jordan Vaughan (Wynnum) won the North and Central medals, respectively.

It wasn’t just players recognised at the awards, with coaches and volunteers’ contributions also highlighted.

Kedron’s Jason Duce was rewarded for an outstanding first season with the Lions, claiming both the QFA coach of the year and the state community coach of the year award.

The Lions were elevated to a higher level of competition this season, with Duce leading the side to a third-place regular season in the QFA (North) league.

Sam Whish-Wilson (Bond University) and Jason Chantler (Southport Sharks) won the QAFA and Colts coach of the year awards, respectively.

Park Ridge’s Martina Beardsley was recognised for her tireless efforts around the Pirates club,  awarded Club Volunteer of the Year, while University of Queensland Red Lions vice-president, Peter Rosengren, won the Club Administrator of the Year.

Springwood stalwart, Graham Murrihy, was recognised with the Outstanding Long Service to the Game award, after more than 25 years with the Pumas.

The Ipswich Cats were awarded the Graydon Poulsen Award for their support of the Tudor family, who lost all their belongings in a house fire.

The Graydon Poulsen Award was established in 2007 in recognition of the Nambour Football Club’s contribution to the participation of Poulsen in football, and awards a club which provides an exceptional level of support for its members in a colts environment.

Poulsen was a winner himself on the night, claiming the first Inclusion Medal, as Queensland’s best player in this year’s National Inclusion Championships.



Duncanson Medal – Luke Faulkner (Mayne)

Leading Goal kicker – Luke Faulkner (Mayne) – 122 goals

Noel Wallis Medal (Reserves best and fairest) – Hayden Smoothy (Maroochydore)

Reserves leading goal kicker – Samuel Weuffen (Maroochydore) – 51 goals


Todd Medal (best and fairest) – Daniel Wise (Burleigh)

Leading goal kicker – Korey Fulton (Robina) – 89 goals

Frank Sutherland Medal (reserves best and fairest) – Ryan Weterings (Robina) & William Sutton (Springwood)

Reserves leading goal kicker – Daniel Bridge (Springwood) – 56 goals


Col Tobiasen Medal (best and fairest) Daniel Dai (Pine Rivers)

Leading goal kicker – Alan Flower (Griffith Moorooka) – 75 goals

Reserves best and fairest  -Warick Cox (Pine Rivers)

Reserves leading goal kicker- Paul Schoormans (Ipswich Eagles) – 59 goals


Leading goal kicker – Jeremy Cockram (Maroochydore) – 47 goals


Best and fairest – Jordan Vaughan (Wynnum)

Leading goal kicker – Aaron Widt (Sandgate) – 76 goals

QAFA (B) South

John mason medal (best and fairest) – Ashley Gemmill (Tweed Coast)/ Doug North (Ballina)

Leading goal kicker – Ashley Gemmill (Tweed Coast) – 58 goals


Darryl and Carmel Gould Medal (best and fairest) – Brandon Perkins (Aspley)

Leading goal kicker – Joshua Elmslie (Aspley) – 89 goals


Eunice and Les Ferguson medal (best and fairest) – Harrison Hunkin (Redland)

Leading goal kicker – Callum Eddy (Springwood) – 56 goals


Keith Wallis Medal (best and fairest) – Jack Mitchell (Broadbeach)

Leading goal kicker – Matthew Warren (Surfers Sharks) – 54 goals


Best and fairest – Mimi Hoger (Zillmere)

Leading goal kicker – Monique Lepri (Caboolture)


QFA Coach of the year – Jason Duce (Kedron)

QAFA coach of the year – Sam Whish-Wilson (Bond University)

Colts coach of the year – Jason Chantler (Southport)

QWAFA coach of the Year – Monique Lepri (Caboolture)

State community coach of the year – Jason Duce (Kedron)


Club Volunteer of the Year- Martina Beardsley (Park Ridge Pirates)

Club Administrator of the Year – Peter Rosengren (UQ)

Outstanding Long Service to the Game Award – Graham Murrihy (Springwood)


Community Umpire of the year- Gary Paul


Graydon Poulsen


Ipswich Cats

Our Supporters