Queensland Emerging Talent Squad announced

AFL Queensland has today announced the Queensland Emerging Talent Squad for the upcoming women’s representative match against West Australia Football League Women’s (WAFLW).

The squad of 32 was shortlisted following a trial game last Wednesday night against the Queensland Under 18 state representative side and will be reduced to a final squad of 21 plus two emergencies on Monday July 15.

The final team will train once as a group before flying to Perth to face the West Australia side at Blue Steel Stadium on Saturday July 20.

Included in the team is a combination of Queensland state league players selected form last Wednesday night’s trial, AFLW listed players with less than four games experience and Brisbane and Gold Coast Winter Series squad players.

AFL Queensland State Female Talent Manager Kath Newman praised the efforts of the 32 players selected in the preliminary squad.

“Selection in this team rewards the players who have been excelling in the Bond University QAFLW in 2019.

“It provides an opportunity to showcase the home based Queensland talent against a quality opposition.

“It has been a massive undertaking to ensure that all women playing in any competition throughout Queensland has an opportunity to gain selection and potentially get picked up by an AFLW club.”


AFL Queensland Emerging Talent Squad

Alex Hamyln (Coolangatta/Gold Coast SUNS)
Emma McKenzie (Coorparoo/Gold Coast SUNS)
Georgia Brehmer (Bond University/Gold Coast SUNS)
Indy Sleeth (Coolangatta/Gold Coast SUNS)
Jacqui Yorston (Yeronga/Gold Coast SUNS)
Jade Pregelj (Yeronga/Gold Coast SUNS)
Kalinda Howarth (Bond/Gold Coast SUNS)
Kate Surman (Maroochydore/Gold Coast SUNS)
Laura Attard (Bond/Gold Coast SUNS)
Lauren Bella (Bond/Gold Coast SUNS)
Madison Goodwin (Yeronga/Gold Coast SUNS)
Mary Ross (Mornigside/Gold Coast SUNS)
Molly Ritson (Bond/Gold Coast SUNS)
Sally Young (Coorparoo/Gold Coast SUNS)
Tori Groves-Little (Coorparoo/Gold Coast SUNS)
Amy Kelly (Wilston-Grange/Brisbane Lions)
Briana McFarlane (Coolangatta/Brisbane Lions)
Cathy Svarc (Wilston-Grange/Brisbane Lions)
Dakoda Davidson (UQ/Brisbane Lions)
Greta Bodey (UQ/Brisbane Lions)
Jess Maher (Bond/Brisbane Lions)
Kayla Geddes (Coorparoo/Brisbane Lions)
Maria Maloney (UQ/Brisbane Lions)
Selina Priest (Coolangatta/Brisbane Lions)
Demi Leach (Yeronga)
Leigh Alder (Coolangatta)
Lucinda Pullar (Bond)
Megan Hunt (UQ)
Rachael Vetter (UQ)
Sarah Fuller (Wilston-Grange)
Tahlia Smith (Cairns Saints)
Amy Fortescue (Coolangatta)

Our Supporters