Hodge earns the perfect ten: Syd Guildford Trophy Round 12

By Ant Wingard

Morningside ruckman Brad Hodge has mounted his case for the honour of the QAFL’s premier ruck with a scintillating performance in the Panthers’ Round 12 win over Surfers Paradise.

The 22-year-old Hodge collected the maximum ten Syd Guildford Trophy votes to move into equal fourth spot – an honour he shares with Mt Gravatt big man Andrew Smith.

Hodge failed to poll a vote in the opening six games of the season but has emerged from his early season slumber to guide Morningside into second place in the QAFL standings.

Against the Demons in Round 12, Hodge produced perhaps his most complete performance of the season as he joined forces with Panthers skipper Peter Mollison (six votes) to dominate the stoppages.

Other Panthers to poll in the voting were AFL draft hopeful Keidean Coleman (also six), Daniel Frame and Henry Joyce (both one), who consolidated his position in the top six while Surfers Paradise duo Dylan Mutu and Nick Scott (both three) earned plaudits.

Palm Beach Currumbin spearhead Jack Anthony became the second player of Round 12 to earn the perfect ten votes in the Syd Guildford Trophy after another commanding performance in front of goal.

Anthony, playing his first game since Round 7, booted a season-high nine goal haul in the Lions’ win over Sandgate to propel the veteran forward back into equal second.

Syd Guildford Trophy leader Tom Thynne boosted his chances of winning the award with four votes in the win to move the silky half-forward/midfielder 15 votes clear of second place.

Brother Stephen Thynne also chimed in with three votes of his own among a host of Lions also including Reyne Harris (four), Zac Harrison (three) and Nick Crowley (three).

Broadbeach captain Matt Fowler also made the most of his side’s Round 12 with nine votes in the Cats’ win over Western Magpies.

The Cats and Magpies traded votes in the close affair as black and white trio Brody Lumber (seven), Daniel Edwards (four) and Ryan Harwood (two) all polled while fellow Cards Josh Searl (five) and Blake Erickson (four) also received votes however second place holder Jackson Fisher failed to catch the awe of both coaches.

Mt Gravatt veteran Chris Murphy added to his season tally with a game-high nine votes in the Vultures’ emphatic win over Wilston Grange.

The running half-back was one of three players to receive votes from both coaches as Andrew Smith (eight) moved into reaffirmed his position near the top of the leader board and rising midfielder Joel Leahy also impressed.

Wilston Grange v Mt Gravatt

9 – Chris Murphy (Mt Gravatt)
8 – Andrew Smith (Mt Gravatt)
5 – Joel Leahy (Mt Gravatt)
4 – Daniel Farry (Wilston Grange)
2 – Daniel Daye (Mt Gravatt)
1 – Sam Stubbs (Mt Gravatt)
1 – Lachie Gaw (Wilston Grange)

Broadbeach v Western Magpies

9 – Matt Fowler (Broadbeach)
7 – Brody Lumber (Western Magpies)
5 – Josh Searl (Broadbeach)
4 – Blake Erickson (Broadbeach)
3 – Daniel Edwards (Western Magipes)
2 – Ryan Harwood (Western Magpies)

Surfers Paradise v Morningside

10 – Brad Hodge (Morningside)
6 – Keidean Coleman (Morningside)
6 – Peter Mollison (Morningside)
3 – Dylan Mutu (Surfers Paradise)
3 – Nick Scott (Surfers Paradise)
1 – Henry Joyce (Morningside)
1 – Daniel Frame (Morningside)

Palm Beach Currumbin v Sandgate

10 – Jack Anthony (Palm Beach Currumbin)
4 – Tom Thynne (Palm Beach Currumbin)
4 – Reyne Harris (Palm Beach Currumbin
3 – Zac Harrison (Palm Beach Currumbin)
3 – Stephen Thynne (Palm Beach Currumbin)
3 – Nick Crowley (Palm Beach Currumbin)
2 – Max Homer (Sandgate)
1 – Jack O’Hallaron (Sandgate)

Syd Guildford Trophy Leader Board

Thomas Thynne (Palm Beach Currumbin) – 51
Jackson Fisher (Broadbeach) – 36

John Anthony (Palm Beach Currumbin) – 36

Andrew Smith (Mt Gravatt) – 34

Bradley Hodge (Morningside) – 34

Jason Burge (Palm Beach Currumbin) – 32

Henry Joyce (Morningside) – 30

Bryce Retzlaff (Labrador) – 26

Jack Yelland (Surfers Paradise) – 25

Frazer Neate (Mt Gravatt) – 23

Matthew Green (Surfers Paradise) – 23

Peter Mollison (Morningside) – 23

Our Supporters