QLD Young Scorpions U16 Training Squad

Following completion of the last round of games in the U 16 Queensland State Academy Championships yesterday, the Queensland Young Scorpions selectors have finalised a training squad based on players who competed at the Championships.

Selectors have taken into account an in depth selection criteria, which includes among many others, the capability of a player to compete at National level physically, mentally, show very good football skills and football smarts and ensure players meet required fitness standards.

The selectors’ job was not an easy one with many players putting their best foot forward during the Championships and the depth of talent is improving each year. Young Scorpions Head Coach John Rankin and his Assistant Coaches canvassed consistent input from all the Regional Coaches after each game played to ensure accurate feedback on performance.

Players not included in the initial group should take on board the feedback provided from their respective Coaches at their exit interviews after the Championships and work hard back at their Junior clubs, noting that in previous years players initially not selected, have forced their way into contention with very good consistent performances at club level. Young Scorpions Coaching staff will continue to monitor club performances in all Junior Leagues.

Players whose names are included on the Young Scorpions training list are asked to attend the initial training session on Monday 14 May at Leyshon Park Yeronga (AFL Queensland High Performance and Training headquarters) Cansdale St Yeronga. Training will commence 4.30 pm sharp so please, if possible, get there well in advance of this starting time. Please bring with you your regional jumpers, socks and playing shorts for the initial training session. You should also bring with you a loose leaf folder for all handbooks and handouts you will receive during the program. After each training session you will be doing ice baths recovery so you should also bring bathers and a towel.

The squad is as follows:

Henjo Mareko (Cape York), Myra Tomsana (Cape York), Didymus Blankett (Cape York), Mitch Koch (Cairns), Rhys Bridge (Cairns), Jeff Hudson (Cape York), Tom Michael (Cairns), James Farley-Smith (Cairns), Robert Reents (Mackay ), Jacob Lowe (Mackay)

Cassidy Haberfield (Surfers Paradise), Troy Clark (Surfers Paradise), Robert Blood (Southport), Jack Taylor (Labrador), Darcy Trask (Southport), Ethan Mackie (Labrador)

Billy O’Donnell (Broadbeach), Lochie Weller (Broadbeach), James Holland (Broadbeach)

Jackson Dickfos (Redcliffe), Casey Brittain (Aspley), Luke Barker (Sandgate), Liam Mosley (Sandgate), Jacob Watson (Aspley), Liam Dawson (Redcliffe)

Darcy Cameron- Reeves (Coorparoo), Declan Smith (Morningside), Tim Ede (Morningside), Matthew Hammelmann (Morningside)

Cameron Stevenson (Maroochydore), Billy Mahony (Pomona), Tom Buckle (Kawana Park), Brandon Maki (Maroochydore), Daniel Henderson (Caloundra), William Kristelly (Kawana Park)

Seb Windsor (Everton), Carl Foster (Wests Juniors), Luca Winton (Sherwood), Tim Tate (Darling Downs)

The State Talent Manager will be in touch with all the Country Kookaburras players selected in the squad to discuss logistics and requirements regarding training and upcoming practice matches.

Our Supporters