QAFL Representative Squad Announced

AFL Queensland today announced the 41-man QAFL squad to play against the Western Australian Amateur Football League (WAAFL), at Broadbeach on Sunday June 11.

This year’s QAFL side will be seeking to rectify the results of last year’s encounter, in which the WAAFL side won by 9 points in a tough contest.

On the day, the Queensland Under 23 women’s side will also feature, when they play the second game of a two game series, against the Western Australians.

All 9 clubs are represented in the squad and players from 2016 grand finalists Palm Beach Currumbin and Labrador, feature prominently.

Wayne Brittain, former Carlton Senior Coach, will coach the team and has been influential in assembling a squad to play the type of football he wants to play.

AFL Queensland State Football Operations Manager, Barry Gibson, said the squad includes an even blend of youth and experience.

“With only three rounds of football to date, a lot of work has gone into the talent ID process to ensure we have the best squad available to us at this time of the season,” said Gibson.

“The squad is in no way final, as we will definitely add players should we feel the need based on form and availability.

“Wayne is very clear on how he wants the team structured in order to be able to compete with the West Australians.

“It’s pleasing to see so many new faces to representative football at this level, particularly those who have come through their QAFL club junior program.”

The squad will train next Wednesday at Yeronga.

The QWAFL will announce their squad on Tuesday May 23.



Match Schedule
Ord Minnett Oval, Broadbeach
Sunday June 11


11:30am   Queensland U23 Women v Mundella WA State U23

1:30pm     QAFL v WAAFL





Oskar Baker Wilston Grange/Aspley
Benjamin Bisset Morningside
Zachery Brain Labrador
Steven Brittain Wilston Grange
Ryley Buntain Morningside
Jason Burge Palm Beach Currumbin
Adam Clarke Labrador
Rhys Coombe Labrador
Tyler Cornish Palm Beach Currumbin
Isaac Corvo Sandgate
Jakob De Winter Western Magpies
Jesse Derrick Palm Beach Currumbin
Lachlan Dignan Morningside
Jake Dignan Palm Beach Currumbin
Daniel Farry Wilston Grange
Bradie Foster Wilston Grange
Samuel Godfrey Morningside
Jake Goldsmith Labrador
Michael Hamill Mt Gravatt
Bill Hicks Labrador
Tom Ielasi Western Magpies
Nathan Kinch Morningside
David Lewis Western Magpies
Benjamin McNiece Morningside
Wayde Mills Labrador
Alexander Mitchell Morningside
Brent Moloney Wilston Grange
Joseph Murphy Mt Gravatt
Charlie Pershouse Western Magpies
Nathan Quick Broadbeach
Paddy Rankin Surfers Paradise
Bryce Retzlaff Labrador
Luke Shreeve Broadbeach
Connor Stackleberg Sandgate/Aspley
Thomas Thynne Southport/Palm Beach Currumbin
Matthew Trewhella Wilston Grange
Dylan Troutman Palm Beach Currumbin
Jake Warren Mt Gravatt/Redland
Dane Watmuff Labrador
Josh Woolley Palm Beach Currumbin
Jayden Young Labrador



By Sean Melrose

Our Supporters