QAFL Fixture Set for 2020!

The revised 2020 fixture for AFL Queensland’s premier men’s competition, the QAFL, has been released. The shortened nine round home and away season starts on July 11, with all clubs playing four home games and four away games. The top six teams will then battle out a sudden death finals series that culminates with the Grand Final on 26 September.

All nine teams that entered the competition prior to the suspension of all matches will remain, including Maroochydore, who will make their much awaited QAFL debut on home turf, when they host Wilston Grange in Round 1 at the Maroochydore Multisport Complex.  

Reigning Premiers Surfers Paradise, won’t have to wait long to unveil their 2019 premiership flag, as they are scheduled to host last season’s vanquished Grand Finalists, Palm Beach Currumbin, in Round 1. Whilst a premiership can never be avenged, Palm Beach will no doubt be keen to spoil the Demon’s flag raising party.

AFL Queensland’s State Manager – Senior Football Operations, Barry Gibson, said all indications suggest this could be one of the closest seasons on record.   

“The shortened format changes everything, as it becomes less about staying the distance and more about being able to maintain the intensity over a 12 week period,” Gibson said.

“After everything that has happened over the past four months, the resilience of our clubs to still be able and willing to compete is an absolute testament to them, and in particular their volunteers who have worked tirelessly to ensure the players could still have a chance to compete this season.

“No doubt each club will head into Round 1 having had a different preparation and with differing views on how to approach such a unique year, which augurs well for a highly competitive and entertaining season,” Gibson added.

Download the 2020 Fixture Calendar




Our Supporters