QAFL Captains have their say on the upcoming 2022 QAFL Season

The captains have been polled and the votes are in ahead of what’s being touted as one of the most anticipated QAFL seasons in recent history.

Reigning Premiers Broadbeach are tipped to make back-to-back Grand Final appearances, with Labrador and newcomers Aspley also expected to be at the top end of the 2022 ladder.

Arguably the greatest Grogan Medallist of all time (having won three; 2006 with Zillmere, 2011 with Southport and 2020 with Morningside) and perhaps even the best Queenslander footballer not have played at the elite level (having also won the NEAFL Most Valuable Player award three times; 2014, 2016 and 2018 with Aspley), Matt Payne is tipped as the player to take out the 2022 J.A Grogan Medal. This year, in Wilston Grange colours.

Payne polled four votes, closely followed by Palm Beach Currumbin’s Liam Jones – who’s fresh from the AFL (Carlton) and expected to make waves at the southern Gold Coast club.

Lining up with Redland-Victoria Point Sharks in 2022, former Redland Bombers player Matt Hammelmann was overwhelmingly picked to claim this year’s Ray Hughson Medal for leading goalkicker.  

It comes after Hammelmann won the VFLs Jim “Frosty” Medal in 2021 with 42 goals from just 10 matches – the first player in the competition’s 138-year history to top the goalkicking in a team that won the wooden spoon (Aspley).

He also claimed the NEAFL leading goalkicker in 2018 and 2019 with hauls of 60 and 66 majors while playing for Redlands.

Broadbeach’s Jordan “The Mayor” Moncrieff secured five votes and is once again expected to perform in front of the big sticks in 2022, having won the Ray Hughson Medal in 2021.

Mitch Scholard (Maroochydore), Jack Austin (Sherwood) and Jono Freeman (Noosa) all polled one vote each.


Which other club is most likely to reach the Grand Final?

7 – Broadbeach

5 – Labrador

5 – Aspley

3 – Maroochydore

2 – Redland Victoria Point

1 – Palm Beach Currumbin


Who do you think will win the 2022 J.A. Grogan Medal?

4 – Matt Payne, Wilston Grange

3 – Liam Jones, Palm Beach Currumbin

1 – Brady Allen – Sherwood

1 – Caleb Franks – Redland-Victoria Point

1 – Matt Green, Surfers Paradise

1 – Sam McLachlan – Maroochydore

1 – Scott Miller – Redland-Victoria Point

1 – Luke Mitchell – Sherwood

1 – Tom Templeton – Noosa


Who do you think will win the 2022 Ray Hughson Medal for QAFL Leading Goalkicker?

8 – Matt Hammelmann, Redland-Victoria Point

5 – Jordan Moncrieff, Broadbeach

1 – Jack Austin, Sherwood

1 – Jono Freeman, Noosa

1 – Mitch Scholard, Maroochydore



Photo by Chris Hyde/AFL Photos




Our Supporters