NQ and SQ representative teams named

AFL Queensland today announced the North Queensland and South Queensland teams ahead of their annual intrastate clash in Cairns this Saturday, July 22.

North Queensland coach Brad Cooper has assembled a team boasting a good mix of youth and experience, headlined by Port Douglas spearhead Kye Chapple.

Joining Chapple, will be another 15 players from AFL Cairns; while AFL Mackay, AFL Townsville and AFL Capricornia all have two representatives each in the twenty-two man team.

North Queensland has had the advantage in recent years and holds a 2-1 series lead.

Returning South Queensland coach, Danny Craven, has named a team that includes players from QFA Northern Rivers, QFA Divisions 1 and 2, QFA Sunshine Coast Wide Bay and AFL Darling Downs.

Experienced campaigners Daniel Dzufer and Benjamin Merrett will captain the SQ team.

The game will be played at Cazaly’s stadium at 1.40pm as a curtain raiser to the Western Bulldogs versus Gold SUNS AFL clash.

AFL Queensland State Football Operations Manager, Barry Gibson, said the fourth iteration of North Queensland vs. South Queensland  has drawn a lot of interest from players across the state.

“This program continues to go from strength to strength, with players from all across the State making themselves available for selection,” Mr Gibson said.

“A lot of quality players have missed out on selection, which speaks volumes to the quality of both teams.

“It’s fantastic that we can provide an opportunity for our community competition players across the State to play on a big stage before an AFL home and away game.”

Gates to the AFL game open from 2pm, those with a ticket to the AFL match wishing to attend the NQ v SQ game can access the venue from 1.30pm through the Tills Street gate.

Name Team
Joel NEWMAN Cairns Saints
Fitzroy GREENWOOL Cairns Saints
Ryan LEMPA Centrals Trinity Beach
Chris PATERSON Centrals Trinity Beach
Jayden HOLT Centrals Trinity Beach
Hugh NICHOLSON Centrals Trinity Beach
Stephen EILOLA Gladstone
Leroy LARSON Hermit Park Tigers
Nathan PETERS Mackay Magpies
Ezekiel FRANK Manunda Hawks
Jonathan HOBBS Port Douglas
Wesley GLASS Port Douglas
Kye CHAPPLE Port Douglas
Peter BURY Port Douglas
Declan KELLY Port Douglas
Mitchell BOHM Port Douglas
Matthew MEDCRAFT Port Douglas
James DIXON South Cairns
Zac EWER South Cairns
Jarryd GRAHAM University Hawks
Nicholas PROUD Whitsunday Sea Eagles
Isaac KEILLY Yeppoon Swans
Joel KARWAN Manunda Hawks
Ethan McCULLOUGH Port Douglas
Milton MISKIN Manunda Hawks



Brad Cooper – Head coach Port Douglas
Peter Seymour – Assistant Centrals Trinity
Jamie Fogg – Assistant Hermit Park Tigers
Peter Young – Assistant AFL Capricornia
Marc Harbrow – Assistant Manunda Hawks


Club First name Surname
Coorparoo Ben Gibson
Bond Uni Benjamin Merrett
Caloundra Christopher Taylor
Maroochydore Daniel Dzufer
Bond Edward Burrows-Cheng
Mayne Jack Coghlan
Maroochydore Jackson Ryan
Maroochydore Jacob Simpson
Noosa Jai Fitzpatrick
Caloundra James Barnes
Moreton Bay James Cullum
Mayne Jasper Craven
Moreton Bay Jonathan Giles
South Toowoomba Jonathan Leidig
Byron Bay Jordan Bourke
Across The Waves Patrick Power
Caloundra Quinten Ross
Maroochydore Samuel Mckenzie
Caloundra Thomas Rudolph
Noosa Thomas Templeton
Maroochydore Tyle Williams
Byron Bay William McBride
Mayne Zac Mclean
Springwood Zaine Pringle
Burleigh Samuel Sandford



Danny Craven – Head Coach AFLQ
Rory Lake – Assistant Coorparoo
Sam Whish-Wilson – Assistant Bond University
Clint Brunnenmeyer – Assistant Mayne
Luke Carroll – Assistant AFLQ
Brennan Gibson – Game Analysis AFLQ
Mark Mason – Statistics AFL Wide Bay


Our Supporters