Northern Raiders Win State U16’s

The Northern Raiders have beaten The Country Kookaburras by 6 points to clinch the 2012 Championship.

The Northern Raiders have taken out the 2012 Under 16 State Development Championships Grand Final, beating the Country Kookaburras by 6 points in a thriller at Yeronga today.

The Kookaburras drew first blood, dribbling through a goal in the opening minutes of the match, but it was the Raiders who controlled play for much of the first quarter going into the break 2.3.15 to the Kookaburras 1.1.7

The North Queenslanders pegged the lead back to three points in the second quarter before two long running goals from the Raiders saw them head into the main break with a 15 point lead.

The Kookaburras started the third quarter well, goaling early before the Raiders hit back late in the term with two goals on the trot to lead 7.6.48 to 4.2.26 at three quarter time.

Going into the last quarter it looked all over for the Kookaburras, but the plucky Country boys staged a late revival, kicking three goals late in the term to narrow the final margin to just one goal.

The fulltime scoreboard read Northern Raiders 8.9.57 to the Country Kookaburras 8.3.51

Northern Raiders Captain Liam Dawson was named player of the carnival.

Northern Raiders

Goal Kickers: Nathan Buckley 2, Luke Barker 2, Jonah Eoe, Jack Marquis, Liam Mosley, Tyler Cester

Best: Liam Dawson, Liam Richardson, Corey Wagner, Jacob Watson, Jeremy De Bortoli, Joel Kennedy, Jackson DickfosNorthern Raiders Coaches Award:   # 24 Liam Dawson

Country Kookaburras

Goal Kickers: Myra Tomsana 4, Jow Llewelyn, Henjo Mareko, Josh Evans

Best: Myra Tomsana, Didymys Blankett, Mitch Koch, Jak Williams, Rhys Bridge,

Kookaburras Coaches Award:  #11 Didymus Blankett


Play off for 7th position

South Eastern Bushrangers 19-9-123 defeated PNG 3-6-24

Goals SEB: T Gosper 5, D Smith 4, B Keays 3, M Hammelmann 2, D Cameron-Reeves, H O’Kelly, J. Mitchell, T Rolls, B Mulcahy

Best SEB: B Keays, C Brodie, D Smith, T Gosper, I Edwards

SEB Coaches Award: # 17 Declan Smith

Goals PNG: L Savere 2, R Singura

Best PNG: L Savere, J Tony , M Mc Queen, H Kambu

PNG Coaches Award: #9 Peter Lavong

Play off for 5th position

Gold Coast North 6-9-45 defeated Western Taipans 4-0-24

Goals GCN: D Trask 2, J Bax, E Mackie, J Collings, T Clark

Best GCN: R Blood, N Ellis, C Palmer, T Clark, E Mackie, C Haberfield

GCN Coaches Award: # 2 C Haberfield

Goals W Taipans: Z Laud 2, Z McLean, C Bellert

Best WT: T Tate, L Winton, S Windsor, J Stahlhut, J Lorton

WT Coaches Award: #19 Tim Tate

Play off for 3rd Position

Suncoast Power 11-3-69 defeated Gold Coast South 7-7-49

Goals SCP: T Watson 2, W Kristelly 2, B Mahony, B Maki, J Brain, D Henderson, S Eckleshott, G Hunt, B Doherty

Best SCP: B Mahony, B Maki, D Henderson, C Stevenson, T Buckle, L Dewar, A Dempsey

SCP Coaches Award: #4 Bill Mahony

Goals GC Sth: K Skuse 2, J Ward, J Holland, T Stevenson, B O’Donnell, D Maden

Best GC Sth: S Tippett, J Holland, L Weller, D Maden, B O’Donnell, J Conquest, J Stagg

GC Sth: Coaches Award : #12 Lachie Weller

Final Positions for 8 teams

1st Position : Northern Raiders

2nd Position : Country Kookaburras

3rd Position : Suncoast Power

4th Position : Gold Coast South

5th Position : Gold Coast North

6TH Position : Western Taipans

7th Position : South Eastern Bushrangers

8th Position : PNG Binatangs

Our Supporters