North Queensland Rep. Squad Announced

The initial North Queensland squad to take on South Queensland, in this year’s representative match has been named today.

The game will be played as a curtain raiser to the round 18 Western Bulldogs vs. Gold Coast SUNS AFL clash in Cairns, at Cazaly’s Stadium on July 22.

North Queensland have named 57 players in the initial North Queensland squad, which includes players from AFL Cairns, AFL Capricornia, AFL Mackay and AFL Townsville.

“Overall, we are very happy with the depth and versatility of the squad. I’m really excited to be bringing this team together,” said North Queensland coach Brad Cooper.

“It’s a huge opportunity for Queensland regional players to be able to play the curtain raiser at an AFL Premiership match, at Cazalys Stadium, and that certainly sparks a huge interest from the players vying for selection.

“Representative footy at whatever level is the pinnacle for players and to play alongside the best players from across NQ is a huge honour and a journey I’m really looking forward to undertaking with this team,” Cooper said.

South Queensland has gone with an initial squad of 46 players from QFA Divisions 1 and 2, Northern Rivers, Darling Downs and Wide Bay.

Former Brisbane Lions reserves coach Danny Craven will be coaching the South Queensland side.

Craven, who played for both St Kilda and the Brisbane Bears, is looking forward to getting his players to represent their region with spirit, as opposed to making things too complicated.

“It’s about representing your jumper and representing the bloke that’s alongside you,” said Craven.

“It’s nice to have game plans and try and trick it up a bit and all that sort of stuff, but we just want them to play with effort and spirit on the day.”

North Queensland won on the first two occasions these teams met, though South Queensland claimed victory in 2016, setting the stage for an exciting match come July.

Final teams will be named on Monday July 17.



North Queensland Initial 57-man Squad


AFL Capricornia
HAUA, Kane Boyne Island/Tannum Sands
BROWN, Josh Gladstone
EILOLA, Stephen Gladstone
HIGGINS, Timothy Glenmore
KING, Jake Yeppoon
WALLIN, Matthew Yeppoon
AFL Mackay
EAMES, Dale Bakers Creek
FORTESCUE, Jack Mackay
PETERS, Nathan Mackay
FAZACKERLEY, Lee Mackay City
HAYES, Des Mackay City
BELL, Mitchell Whitsundays
PROUD, Nicholas Whitsundays
AFL Townsville
AGITA, Stannis Hermit Park
DI BETTA, Jason Hermit Park
LARSON, Leroy Hermit Park
MACDONALD, Daine Thuringowa
GRAHAM, Jarryd University Hawks
HALL, Josh Northern Beaches
AFL Cairns
DALEY, Kieran Cairns Saints
GEORGE, Keenan Cairns Saints
GREENWOOL, Fitzroy Cairns Saints
POULTER, Lachlan Cairns Saints
WELLINGTON, Cade Cairns Saints
BRIDGE, Rhys Centrals Trinity Beach
HOLT, Jayden Centrals Trinity Beach
LEMPA, Ryan Centrals Trinity Beach
McAULEY, Timothy Centrals Trinity Beach
McLACHLAN, Max Centrals Trinity Beach
NICHOLSON, Hugh Centrals Trinity Beach
PATTERSON, Chris Centrals Trinity Beach
ROBINS, Aaron Centrals Trinity Beach
WILLIAMS, Jackson Centrals Trinity Beach
FLINT, Corey Manunda Hawks
FRANK, Ezekiel Manunda Hawks
KARWAN, Joel Manunda Hawks
MISKIN, Milton Manunda Hawks
CLOUGH, Thomas North Cairns
GOROGO, Tyler North Cairns
NOVY, Chris North Cairns
BOHM, Mitchell Port Douglas
BURY, Peter Port Douglas
CHAPPLE, Kye Port Douglas
GLASS, Wesley Port Douglas
HOBBS, Jonathan Port Douglas
KELLY, Declan Port Douglas
McCULLOUGH, Ethan Port Douglas
MEDCRAFT, Mathew Port Douglas
WEARMOUTH, Dylan Port Douglas
FLOYD, Danny Pyramid Power
BOSEN, Dwayne South Cairns
DIXON, James South Cairns
ETHERINGTON, Ryan South Cairns
EWER, Zac South Cairns
PYKE, Hayden South Cairns
WARDLE, Jermaine South Cairns
WELCH, David South Cairns


Brad Cooper (Cairns) – Coach

Peter Seymour (Cairns) – Assistant Coach

Marc Harbrow (Cairns) – Assistant Coach

Jamie Fogg (Townsville) – Assistant Coach

Peter Young (Capricornia) – Assistant Coach

Our Supporters