NEAFL/QAFL mini draft

The restructure of the NEAFL and QAFL in 2014 will see a new alignment established between the competitions, culminating in series of mini drafts held next week.

The drafts will be the first of their kind in the state, creating a stronger link between the QAFL and NEAFL clubs, and continuing to establish a clearer talent pathway for Queensland’s footballers.

Similar systems have previously been in place in competitions such as the SANFL and WAFL, with AFL players drafted into state league clubs.

NEAFL teams have a list of 35 players, with no reserves team, and 15 players on the rookie list, meaning up to 13 players will be able to train with and play in a QAFL side each week.

Each NEAFL player will be aligned to a QAFL club, based on their previous playing experience or geographic proximity, where they will play in weeks when they are not playing NEAFL seniors.

Senior-listed players who have, in the past three years, transferred to a NEAFL club from a current QAFL club, are automatically aligned to their club of origin, if they choose to nominate that club as their club of choice.

Players who do not nominate their former club or aren’t eligible to do so must enter the mini draft in their region to be selected by one of the QAFL clubs aligned with their NEAFL club.

All NEAFL rookies must align themselves to a QAFL club.

The order of the mini draft is in the reverse order to 2013 ladder positions, with 2013 SEQAFL Division One clubs receiving picks before the former NEAFL clubs).

The order will be as follows:

Southport Football Club               

Surfers Paradise Football Club

Palm Beach Currumbin Football Club

Labrador Football Club

Broadbeach Football Club


Redland Football Club                   

Western Magpies Football Club      

Mt Gravatt Football Club

Morningside Football Club                                                                               

Aspley Football Club                    

University of Queensland

Sandgate Football Club

Wilston Grange Football Club


In 2014, the QAFL will consist of four former NEAFL clubs, as well as six clubs in last year’s Division One community football competition.

The Redland mini draft will be held on Monday, March 3 at 4:00pm at AFL Queensland Training and Administration Centre, with Aspley’s at 5:30pm and the Southport mini draft at Southport on Wednesday March 5 at5:30pm.

The QAFL will be the state’s premier community-based football competition, providing an important step in the state’s talent pathways.

Clubs applied for a QAFL licence based on six core pillars – administration, finance, brand and culture, performance, facilities and strategic plan.

Following this process, it was determined the QAFL would be a 10 team competition involving Broadbeach, Labrador, Morningside, Mt Gravatt, Palm Beach, Sandgate, Surfers Paradise, University of Queensland, Wilston Grange and Western Magpies.

Our Supporters