McKee moves into top ten: Syd Guildford Trophy Round 4

By Ant Wingard

Wilston Grange half-forward Mitchell McKee has capped off a remarkable fortnight in the QAFL by moving into the top ten of the Syd Guildford Trophy.

McKee has enjoyed a purple patch of form in the Gorillas’ pair of wins against Western Magpies, the only game in Round 3, and again in the traditional ANZAC Day eve showdown against Sandgate.

Against the Magpies, McKee earned three votes before his three goal, best on ground performance against the Hawks saw him poll the perfect ten votes to sit third in the overall Syd Guildford standings after four rounds of competition.

Gorillas defender Isaac Corvo also earned the maximum ten votes in the Good Friday showdown while Angus O’Brien (seven) and Harry Milford (four) also polled alongside Jack Goodall (four), who was the lone Magpie to earn votes in the game.

A host of Gorillas dominated the voting in the Wednesday night showdown with O’Brien (four) again featuring followed by Ryan Thomson (four) and Dylan Reid (three) who also received votes.

Palm Beach Currumbin midfielder Thomas Thynne has been rewarded with his standout form in the reigning premier’s 52-point win over Mt Gravatt with a game-high nine votes.

Thynne, who assumed captain duties for the Lions in the win, was followed by former Grogan Medallist Jason Burge (eight), defender Jackson Emblem (six) and Jayden Crawley (four).

Surfers Paradise dominated the voting in the Demons’ ANZAC Round clash with Gold Coast rivals Labrador led by captain Brody Haberfield who collected nine votes after booting four goals.

Haberfield was closely followed by Kain Ford (eight) and returning Southport NEAFL midfielder Haydn Kiel (six) in the win. Jack Yelland (five) and Jack Mentha (two) rounded out the voting.

Eight players featured in the votes from Broadbeach’s narrow four-point win over Western Magpies at McCarthy Homes Oval.

The votes were split fairly evenly with Broadbeach’s Thomas Beston (nine) earning nine with Magpie Gareth Crawford (seven), Cats pair Jayden Rymer (four) and Ryan Dienjes (three) and Magpie midfielder Luca Winton (also three) following close.


Round 3 – Wilston Grange v Western Magpies

10 – Isaac Corvo (Wilston Grange)

7 – Angus O’Brien (Wilston Grange)

4 – Jack Goodall (Western Magpies)

4 – Harry Milford (Wilston Grange)

3 – Mitchell McKee (Wilston Grange)

2 – Frazer Eaton (Wilston Grange)


Round 4 – Wilston Grange v Sandgate

10 – Mitchell McKee (Wilston Grange)

4 – Angus O’Brien (Wilston Grange)

4 – Ryan Thomson (Wilston Grange)

3 – Dylan Reid (Wilston Grange)

3 – Loki Haines (Sandgate)

2 – Brandon Batchelor (Sandgate)

2 – Mitchell Crawley (Sandgate)

1 – Nicholas Dickson (Wilston Grange)

1 – Michael Hutchinson (Sandgate)


Round 4 – Mt Gravatt v Palm Beach Currumbin

9 – Thomas Thynne (Palm Beach Currumbin)

8 – Jason Burge (Palm Beach Currumbin)

6 – Jackson Emblem (Palm Beach Currumbin)

4 – Jayden Crawley (Mt Gravatt)

2 – Mitchell Hart (Mt Gravatt)

1 – Angus Munro (Palm Beach Currumbin)


Round 4 – Surfers Paradise v Labrador

9 – Brody Haberfield (Surfers Paradise)

8 – Kain Ford (Surfers Paradise)

6 – Haydn Kiel (Surfers Paradise)

5 – Jack Yelland (Surfers Paradise)

2 – Jack Mentha (Surfers Paradise)


Round 4 – Western Magpies v Broadbeach

9 – Thomas Betson (Broadbeach)

7 – Gareth Crawford (Western Magpies)

4 – Jayden Rymer (Broadbeach)

3 – Ryan Dienjes (Broadbeach)

3 – Luca Winton (Western Magpies)

2 – Aaron Highlands (Western Magpies)

1 – Macauley Lonergan (Western Magpies)

1 – Ryan Pantic (Broadbeach)



17 – Henry Joyce (Morningside)

14 – Jason Burge (Palm Beach Currumbin)

13 – Mitchell McKee (Wilston Grange)

12 – Aaron Highlands (Western Magpies)

11 – Jack Goodall (Western Magpies)

11 – Angus O’Brien (Wilston Grange)

11 – Samuel Stubbs (Mt Gravatt)

10 – Nicholas Burton (Broadbeach)

10 – Isaac Corvo (Wilston Grange)


Our Supporters