Holman and Heather Green Medal Night Award Winner

AFL Darling Downs celebrated their ‘night of nights’ on Saturday, with the Holman and Heather Green Medal night recognising the top individuals and clubs of the senior AFL competitions. Over 120 players, partners, volunteers and club executives packed out the Allan Cunningham room of the Burke and Wills Hotel to celebrate what’s been another successful season of Aussie Rules across the Downs region.

Not only is the night about the players and teams involved, but the regions top volunteers were also recognised. Toowoomba Tigers President, Neville Jericho, was awarded the Club Administrator of the Year for his tireless efforts and professional management of the club, whilst Chelsea Koelmeyer of South Toowoomba was recognised as Volunteer of the Year for her work with the Bombers club, highlighted by her coordination of the inaugural Toowoomba Pride Cup earlier this year. Wayne Dobson was awarded the Umpire of the Year for his outstanding contributions in the umpiring sector, whilst South Toowoomba Womens Coach Adrian Koelmeyer was awarded Senior Coach of the Year.

Toowoomba Tigers were awarded the Club of the Year for their well rounded club performance and culture in 2019, whilst University and Goondiwindi were presented with the Minor Premierships of the Women’s and Men’s competitions respectively.

After a standout first year of senior football, Highfields’ Ryan Cherry was awarded the Leo Camm Rosebowl for the Rookie of the Year, whilst University’s Jaiden Fidge was deemed the best Under 18 player in the senior competition taking out the Karl Price Trophy. Meg Pullinger booted 55 majors for the Tigers in 2019 to take out the Womens Leading Goal kicker award, whilst Warwick’s Ben Heppell took out the Senior leading goal kicking award, the John Green Trophy, after kicking a season high 74 goals.

University’s young gun Phoebe Baird dominated the 2019 count, polling 20 votes in the Heather Green Medal race to win the top Women’s honour by 5 votes over Toowoomba’s Meg Pullinger.

The Holman Medal count came down to the wire, with Coolaroo’s Michael Langton polling a maximum 3 votes in the final round to draw level and tie with Goondiwindi’s Charles Youngman with 21 votes a piece for the Senior Men’s Best and Fairest Medal. It was the first time in ten years that there has been a tied Holman Medal, whilst Warwick’s Tyhe Clarkson came agonisingly close to his second Holman Medal falling just one vote short on 20 votes as the runner up.

Image gallery available here.
Image credit: Sophie Smith


Holman and Heather Green Medal Night Award Winners

Club Administrator of the Year – Neville Jericho (Toowoomba Tigers)
Club Volunteer of the Year – Chelsea Koelmeyer (South Toowoomba)
Umpire of the Year – Wayne Dobson
Senior Coach of the Year – Adrian Koelmeyer (South Toowoomba)

Club of the Year – Toowoomba Tigers
Women’s Minor Premiers – University Cougars
Seniors Minor Premiers – Goondiwindi Hawks

Leo Camm Rosebowl – Rookie of the Year – Ryan Cherry (Highfields)
Karl Price Trophy – Best Under 18 Player – Jaiden Fidge (University)

Womens Leading Goal Kicker – Meg Pullinger (Toowoomba)
Seniors Leading Goal Kicker – Ben Heppell (Warwick)

Heather Green Medal Runner Up – Meg Pullinger (Toowoomba)
Heather Green Medal – Phoebe Baird (University)

Holman Medal Runner Up – Tyhe Clarkson (Warwick)
Holman Medal – Charles Youngman (Goondiwindi) & Michael Langton (Coolaroo)

Image gallery available here.
Image credit: Sophie Smith  

Our Supporters