Harwood makes his mark: Syd Guildford Trophy Round 10

Western Magpies veteran Ryan Harwood has hit peak form after earning the perfect ten votes in the Syd Guildford Trophy after a best on ground performance against Surfers Paradise.

Harwood faced a delayed start to the season after a injury at training sidelined him for the opening portion of the season but the former Brisbane Lion now finds himself back to his best.

His season best performance helped the Magpies etch a 20-point win over the Demons at McCarthy Homes Oval as one of many in the back and white to feature in the votes.

Harwood’s heroics were complimented by Riley Easton (six), Luca Winton (four) and Samson Ryan (two) while Demon pair Jack Prestegar (four) and Cass Haberfield (one) were also recognised for their performances.

Palm Beach Currumbin livewire Mitch Johnson became the second player of Round 10 to earn the maximum ten votes in the Syd Guildford Trophy after a dazzling display in front of goal in the Lions’ win over Wilston Grange.

Having been omitted from Southport’s NEAFL side, Johnson responded in emphatic fashion, booting a game-high seven goals at the Lions won out by 55-points.

Palm Beach Currumbin midfielders Angus Monroe (seven) and Tyler Cornish (six) also polled well while the 2019 Syd Guildford Leader Thomas Thynne also chipped in with two to extend his tally to 38.

Both coaches were seemingly on the same wave-length in Labrador’s 24-point win over Sandgate as three received the five, four and three votes both Liam Burke and Jarrod Marsh.

Tigers’ defender Jaicob Kenny led the way with the perfect ten votes, followed by Hawks’ stopped Mitch Crawley (eight) and Labrador big man Andy Hollis (six).

Elsewhere, Jarrod Mills (three), Jordan Maynard (two) and Aaron Fabian (one) rounded out the votes.

Morningside skipper Peter Mollison led all-comers in the Panthers’ 23-point win over arch rivals Mt Gravatt.

Mollison booted four goals and earned five votes – with one coaches votes still yet to come – to lead the pack ahead of teammates Ben McNiece (three) and Nathan Colenso (two).

Mt Gravatt ruckman Andrew Smith earned the four points for his efforts in the ruck, just one week removed from his starring performance in the QAFL Representative game, while James London picked up the one.

Western Magpies v Surfers Paradise

10 – Ryan Harwood (Western Magpies)
6 – Riley Easton (Western Magpies)
4 – Luca Winton (Western Magpies)
4 – Jack Prestegar (Surfers Paradise)
2 – Samson Ryan (Western Magpies)
2 – Jack Goodall (Western Magpies)
1 – Claye Beams (Western Magpies)
1 – Cass Haberfield (Surfers Paradise)

Palm Beach Currumbin v Wilston Grange

10 – Mitch Johnson (Palm Beach Currumbin)
7 – Angus Monroe (Palm Beach Currumbin)
6 – Tyler Cornish (Palm Beach Currumbin)
4 – Daniel Farry (Wilston Grange)
2 – Thomas Thynne (Palm Beach Currumbin)
1 – Jackson Coulter (Wilston Grange)

Sandgate v Labrador

10 – Jaicob Kenny (Labrador)
8 – Mitch Crawley (Sandgate)
6 – Andy Hollis (Labrador)
3 – Jarrod Mills (Labrador)
2 – Jordan Maynard (Sandgate)
1 – Aaron Fabian (Sandgate)

Morningside v Mt Gravatt
*one coaches votes still to come

5 – Peter Mollison (Morningside)
4 – Andrew Smith (Mt Gravatt)
3 – Ben McNiece (Morningside)
2 – Nathan Colenso (Morningside)
1 – James London (Mt Gravatt)

Syd Guildford Trophy Leader Board

  1. Thomas Thynne (Palm Beach Currumbin) – 38
  2. Jackson Fisher (Broadbeach) – 34
  3. Jason Burge (Palm Beach Currumbin) – 32
  4. Henry Joyce (Morningside) – 29
  5. John Anthony (Palm Beach Currumbin) – 26
  6. Bryce Retzlaff (Labrador) – 26
  7. Jack Yelland (Surfers Paradise) – 25
  8. Matthew Green (Surfers Paradise) – 23
  9. Gareth Crawford (Western Magpies) – 20
  10. Jaicob Kenny (Labrador) – 20
  11. Alex McKay (Labrador) – 20
  12. Luca Winton (Western Magpies) – 20
  13. Nathan Beck (Morningside) – 19
  14. Tyler Cornish (Palm Beach Currumbin) – 19
  15. Bradley Hodge (Morningside) – 19

Our Supporters