Footy Means Business for Tipungwuti

Queensland U16 representative, Adam Tipungwuti, has been selected for the 2014 Rio Tinto Footy means Business program.

Queensland U16 representative, Adam Tipungwuti, has been selected for the 2014 Rio Tinto Footy means Business program.

Tipungwuti, who hails from the Tiwi Islands originally, but lives in Brisbane, was one of 50 players selected in the squad.

Each year, the Footy Means Business program provides Indigenous men, aged 18-24, with exposure to elite AFL programs and training, as well as networking opportunities in the corporate arena.

These are spread over two training camps, with the first running this week in Perth.

Participants will take part in a range of cultural, educational and community activities as well as intensive training, with coaches Aaron Davey and David Rodan.

Players are split into two teams, one coached by Davey and the other by Rodan, and are set to play off at the conclusion of the camp on Februayr 15.

The second training camp coincides with Indigenous round, culminating in the Rio Tinto Cup, the curtain-raiser to the Dreamtime at the G clash.

AFL Head of Diversity Jason Mifsud said the program is dedicated to helping participants achieve their goals and reach their football potential.

“The AFL and Rio Tinto Footy Means Business program is committed to providing talent and development opportunities for young Indigenous men from all over Australia, with the aim of seeing an increase in Indigenous players selected to play at state and elite AFL level.”

“We are excited to appoint former AFL stars Aaron Davey and David Rodan as the head coaches of the squad and anticipate great talent outcomes from this year’s group of participants, both on and off the field.”

The participants have been selected by AFL Talent Managers based on football ability, engagement with their communities and their potential to serve as a role model.

Team Davey:

Adam Tipungwuti (Brisbane, QLD), Donald Lockyer (Port Headland, WA), Dylan Cooper (Jabiru, WA), Albert Dean (Perth, WA)

James Marraday (Jabaroo, WA), Shannon Jaragba (Groote Eylandt, NT), Ashley Cooper (Karatha, WA), Tim Yarran (Bunbury, WA)

Matthew McKenzie (Kalgoorie, WA), Steven Edwards (Joondanna, WA), Robbie Young (Ottoway, SA), Luke Wilson (Salisbury Downs, SA), Kevin Pickett (Bunbury, WA), Kayan Bundle (Traralgon, VIC), Micky Ball (Wickham, WA), Farron James, Alice Springs, NT)

Traye Bennell (Bunbury, WA), Tosh Kurnoth (Harts Range, NT), Corey Nankervis (Georgetown, TAS), Kayle Kossack (Katherine, NT), Aaron Birch (Beagle Bay, WA), Nelson Ansey (Wickham, WA)

Team Rodan:

Alan Dickson (Alice Springs, NT), Jason Williams (Narijin, VIC), Stephen Hodder (Port Headland, WA), Dino Ross (Midland, WA)

Brandon Jetta (Bunbury, WA), Dylan Nelson (Perth, WA), Kaiden Matera (Perth, WA), Alex Saunders (Highett, VIC), Lawrence Evans (Kununurra, WA), Anthony Wilson (Salisbury Downs, SA), Dwayne Wilson (Murray Bridge, SA), Ben Rioli (Jingili, NT), Andrew Murray (Casey, VIC), Ben Rioli (Jingili, NT), Andrew Murray  (Casey, VIC), Kelman Tullock (Port Headland, WA), Daryn Thomas (Launceston, TAS), Brodie Deverell (Devonport, TAS), Henry Kerinaiua (Darwin, NT), Richard Lindner (Jabiru, WA), Richard Bourne (Perth, WA), Jordan Armstrong (Alice Springs, NT), Matthew Lorne (Karatha, WA), Peter Drover (Alice Springs, NT)

Our Supporters