Five Queenslanders in NAB AFL Academy squads

The AFL has released its nineteenth NAB AFL Academy squads with five Queenslanders in total being selected across the two squads.

Jacob Allison, Jack Bowes and Brad Scheer, all members of the championship winning Queensland Under 18 team this year, have been selected in the Level Two team, consisting of players eligible to be drafted in 2016.

Jack Clayton and Connor Ballenden, both members of the championship winning Queensland Under 16 team this year have been selected in the Level One (bottom age) team.

The 57 players in total will receive a NAB AFL Academy scholarship and will come together for accelerated AFL football and personal development camps to be held in Australia and overseas over the next 12 months.

The Level One squad was selected following the NAB AFL Under-16 Championships held last month on the Gold Coast and they will be coached by former Adelaide Coach and AFL National Academy Head Coach Brenton Sanderson.

Key Level One dates:

Melbourne       September 27-30 2015

Melbourne       November 26- December 3 2015

New Zealand   April 21-26 2016

Brenton Sanderson will also coach the Level Two squad, with all players in this squad are eligible to be drafted in 2016.

Key Level Two dates:

Melbourne       September 30-October 4 2015

Melbourne       November 26- December 3 2015

USA                January 11-26 2016

Melbourne       March 24 – April 3 2016

The NAB AFL Academy commenced in 1997. Since it began, 40 graduates have played in a premiership, two have won Brownlow Medals, 12 have been the number one selection at the NAB AFL Draft, five have won the NAB AFL Rising Star and three have won the Norm Smith Medal.

In 2015 there are 213 NAB AFL Academy graduates on AFL lists including seven AFL captains in Joel Selwood, Travis Boak, Trent Cotchin, Luke Hodge, Marc Murphy, Jarrad McVeigh and Andrew Swallow.

AFL National and International Talent Manager Kevin Sheehan said the academy program provides players with the best possible insight to AFL football.

“The players will experience elite training and mentoring under Head Coach Brenton Sanderson and Talent Football manager Michael Ablett. Players receive individual development plans assisting them to maximise their strengths and work on their development needs over the course of the year. 

The level two squad will train at the IMG Academy in Florida USA in January 2016, which is also home of the Gatorade Sports Science Institute” he said.

Both Connor Ballenden and Jack Clayton hail from the Wests Juniors.

Club president, Ian Selth, said everyone is delighted by the boys’ achievements.

“We are extremely proud of both boys’ efforts. To be among the best 27-kids in the country for their age group is a fantastic achievement,” he said.

Jack has been at Wests for 11 years, and Connor two, but Selth said that both have always been standout juniors.

“Jack has always stood out in his age group, he is a remarkable player. There was always a feeling he would go a long way but you just never know about how they compare to all the other talent,” he said.

“Connor has only been at our club the last couple of years but from the day that he walked into our club we were aware that he was a special talent.”

Wests have provided a setting for it’s players to flourish, and the results are now showing.

“It’s something that we have worked hard on over the last couple of years, to really make sure that the kids can stay in a junior club environment and still get the necessary coaching and guidance to get through to the next level,” Selth said.

National Australia Bank’s General Manager Brand & Products Marketing, Kevin Ramsdale spoke of NAB’s ongoing support of under-age football and the important role that the NAB AFL National Academy plays in fostering the future of football.

“NAB has partnered with the AFL for well over a decade and during this time, we’ve seen the NAB AFL Rising Stars program shape and support some of the country’s most outstanding young footballers. We’re thrilled that through our support of this program and the NAB AFL National Academy in particular, we can continue to play a genuine role in growing the game,” said Mr Ramsdale.

“We congratulate the 57 young players who will participate in this year’s NAB AFL Academy Squads, and look forward to watching their careers develop in future years,” he continued.


The 2015-16 NAB AFL Academy Squads are –


Level Two



Zachary Sproule          Albury

Kobe Mutch                Wentworth

William Setterfield      Scot’s/Caulfield Grammar

Harrison MacReadie    Henty



South Australia:

Jonty Scharenberg      Glenelg/PHOS Camden

Jack Graham               North Adelaide/Tea Tree Gully

Steven Slimming         Sturt/Unley

Peter Ladhams            Norwood/Modbury




Jack Bowes                Cairns

Brad Scheer                Palm Beach Currumbin

Jacob Allison              Aspley


Vic Country:

Myles Poholke            Dandenong Stingrays/Sorrento

Alex Witherden          Geelong Falcons/St Josephs

Jarrod Berry                North Ballarat Rebels/Horsham Saints

Will Brodie                 Murray/Notre Dame

Ben Ainsworth            Gippsland Power/Morwell

Jarrod Korewha          North Ballarat Rebels/Koroit

Jy Simpkin                  Murray Bushrangers/Mooroopna

Josh Battle                  Dandenong Stingrays/Doveton



Vic Metro:

Jordan Galluci              Eastern Ranges/Lilydale

Jack Scrimshaw           Sandringham Dragons/Beaumaris



Western Australia:

Noah Hura                  Peel Thunder/Mandurah Centrals

Sam Petrevski-Seton   Claremont/Halls Creek

Sam Powell-Pepper     East Perth/Wesley

Jeremy Goddard         Claremont/Marist

Luke Strnadica            East Fremantle/Winnacott

Joshua Rotham            West Perth/Whitfords

Jake Waterman            Claremont/Marist



Ben McGuinness         Lauderdale



Northern Territory:

Brandon Parfitt           Nightcliff


Level One



Charlie Spargo               Albury/Giants

Jack Powell                    Ainslie/Giants

Jarrod Brander               Wentworth/Giants

Alex Paech                     Walla Walla/Giants

Nathan Richards            Griffith/Giants



South Australia:

Jordan Houlahan             Sturt/Mt Barker

Darcy Fogarty                 Glenelg/Lucindale

Thomas Schmusch           Woodville West Torrens/Port Districts

Callum Coleman-Jones    Sturt/Unley




Jack Clayton                    West Juniors

Connor Ballenden            West Juniors



Vic Country:

Tyrone Hayes                   Gippsland/Lakes Entrance

Aaron Darling                  Dandenong/Balnarring

Kane Farrell                      Bendigo/Castlemaine

Aidan Quigley                  Gippsland/Yinnar

Lochie O’Brien                 Bendigo/South Mildura

Hunter Clark                     Dandenong/Mt Martha

Luke Davies-Uniacke       Dandenong/Rye

Cody Henness                  Gippsland/Sale

Oscar Clavarino                Dandenong/Berwick



Vic Metro:

Jack Higgins                     Oakleigh Chargers/East Malvern

Lachlan Fogarty               Western Jets/Spotswood

Patrick Naish                    Northern Knights/Ivanhoe

Joel Garner                        Eastern Rangers/Wandin

Jaidyn Stephenson            Eastern Rangers/Ferntree Gully


Western Australia:

Jake Patmore                     Claremont/Christ Church Grammar



Northern Territory:

Dominic Grant                  Wanderers

Our Supporters