The son of a famous QAFL player has been included in the Queensland U18 side for Saturday’s game in the Australian championships.

Thursday, 17 June, 2010

Luke Edwards, son of former Morningside stalwart Brad Edwards, will make his championship debut for the Australia Post Queensland U18 Scorpions in Saturday’s clash with the NSW/ACT at Coorparoo (11am).

Edwards (pictured), whose father is a former Fitzroy and Brisbane Bears AFL player and triple Panthers premiership player, was included today as coach David Ashkar and his brainstrust made four changes from the side that lost heavily to Western Australia a fortnight ago.

Aspley’s Jackson Ryan and Redland’s Daniel Mowat and Leon Bolliger-Ha also were included.

Southport’s Dalton Tucker was unavailable through injury, and under the usual rotation policy, Labrador’s Tom Fields, Morningside’s Tom Hickey and Aspley’s Brendan Colch will be rested.

Edwards, who played for the Lions Reserves as a top-up player earlier in the season, has been named at fullback, with regular custodian Michael Hutchinson, so impressive in the last two games, will move to the wing.

Cairns 16-year-old Sam Michael, playing with Redland in the QAFL this year, has been swung into the ruck after playing previously as a key forward, with clubmate Matthew Sturgeon to offer support off the ruck.

PNG product David Meli, on an international scholarship at Essendon, has been named to play in the centre after he was used at half forward previously.

The Queenslanders, beaten narrowly by Tasmania and badly by WA in the first two games of the NAB Australian U18 Championships, will play their only ‘home’ game in the carnival against NSW/ACT.

The game was originally scheduled to be the curtain-raiser to Saturday night’s AFL clash between the Brisbane Lions and Richmond at the Gabba but was moved because of the Lions’ concerns over the hardness of the Gabba surface.

The U18 game at 11am will precede the QAFL clash between Southport and the Brisbane Lions Reserves.

The Queensland U18 side is:
B: (23) Peter Yagmoor (22) Luke Edwards  (15) Daniel Mowat
HB: (18) Jackson Ryan  (36) Jake Crawford  (5) Aaron Laskey
C:  (8) Michael Hutchinson (30) David Meli  (21) Adam Oxley
HF:  (17) Josh Bruekers   (24) Nathan Reid  (26) Brad Slater
F:  (1) Leon Bolliger-Ha  (31) Liam Rutledge  (33) Luke Shreeve
R: (16) Sam Michael  (14) Joel Wilkinson, (13) Jackson Rolfe.
I/C: (12) Zaine Pringle (3) Chris Wittkopp (27) Matthew Sturgeon (2) Regan Salter.

Our Supporters