Coorparoo Kings win Div 2 premiership

The Coorparoo Kings have scored back-to-back premierships in the SEQAFL Division 2 competition with a 22-point win over the UQ Red Lions on Sunday.

The Red Lions roared out of the blocks – no doubt inspired by their Reserves side’s 19-point win over the Kings in the grand final curtain raiser – to grab a handy 18-point lead by the ten minute mark of the first quarter.

The Kings steadied with their first major of the match but the Red Lions were quick to answer back. A goal from the Kings at the 29-minute mark of the term saw them peg back the margin to 11-points.

They say the third term is the premiership quarter but the Kings proved the exception to the rule with a blistering second term. The Coorparoo side was on fire, slamming through 7-goals-3, while a stunned Lions could manage just three points.

In an arm wrestle of a third term the Red Lions were able to stem the Kings tide, but only just.  Unable to make even a dent on the Kings lead they went into the final break trailing by 34-points.

The Red Lions gave it everything in the final term but the brilliant second quarter by the Kings had done too much damage, giving them the victory, and the silver wear with a 14.13.97 to 11.9.75 win.

Coorparoo Kings

Goal Kickers: S. Morrison 4, B. Cowan 2, C. Allen 2, C. Lovett , J. Lake , D. Opar , S. Lake , J. Taranto , T. Spurling
Best Players: B. Cowan, R. Crawford, A. Minchev, L. Best, S. Henderson, P. James

Red Lions 1

Goal Kickers: D. Hughes 3, H. Millikan 2, B. Percy 2, M. Scruton , N. Kent , L. Wray , J. Beattie
Best Players: M. Stewart, B. Crilly, J. Beattie, B. Percy, D. Hughes, N. Kent

Our Supporters