Carseldine claims the Bill Pierce

Western Magpies co-captain Cal Carseldine has won the  Bill Pierce Medal for Best and Fairest player.

The Bill Pierce Medal count was the highlight of the Pies presentation night conducted on Saturday evening at Chelmer.

Carseldine was a consistent performer all season and led from the front in most matches. He was named in the Pies best players in 15 of 21 matches to underline his class and consistency and some judges think this season he was better than his QAFL Grogan Medal winning year last year.

Carseldine polled  123 votes to be a comfortable winner over runner-up Luke Scott on 90 votes with  Gareth Crawford third on 61 votes.

Crawford was awarded the Kevin Garner-Joe Schaffert Memorial Award for Most Consistent Player.
One of the most respected awards in the club,  the BG Award in honour of Brett Gwyther, who epitomised courage and commitment, was awarded to Matt Sondergeld

The Barry “Phantom”  Johnstone Award for contribution to the club on and off the field was awarded to David Lewis

Best Team Player–Drew Mitchell
Coaches Award–Lachlan Woods
Leading Goalkicker–  Alex Dickfos
Rising Stars– Sam Copland, Charlie Pershouse, Will Fletcher and Rhys Bridge

Bill Peirce Medal leading vote-getters: Cal Carseldine 123, Luke Scott, 90, Gareth Crawford 61, Val Pope 58, Matt Sondergeld 43, Brasy Allen 37, Luke Mitchell 37, Tim McEvoy32, Drew Mitchell 29, Lachlan Woods 28, Rhys Bridge 24, David Lewis 24

Reserves B&F: Blake McClennan
Colts B&F: Dom Misso

Our Supporters