Cape York win NQ U16 Championships

Reigning champions Cape York have done it again, taking out the North Queensland Under 16 Championships at Airlie Beach; their fourth title in five years.

The Cape York squad went through the carnival undefeated, the last match a nail-biter against Townsville that saw them scrape home by just 5-points.

The Coaches Award went to Townsville’s Josh Williams.

Game 7

Cape York 3-4-22

Capricornia 0-8-8

Cape York – Goals Joe Kuranda, Travis Gullivar, Kerrod Marbender 1

Cape York – Best Travis Gullivar, Celestino Nona,,Kerrod Marbender

Capricornia – Goals

Capricornia – Best Jacob Russell, Corey Murphy, Josh Redsell, Connor Redsell, Riley Raven, Trent Mackrill

Game 8

Townsville -7-1-43

Mackay 4-5-29

Townsville Goals Reiley Guest 2, Lachlan Joyce, Rene Lefeurve, Micah Fitzsimmons, Charlie Gaudion 1

Townsville Best Josh Williams, Nathan Searle, Micah Fitzsimmons, Matthew Davey, Josh Andrews

Mackay – Goals – Braden DeAngelis, Braydan Harding, Nick Kemp, Riley Park 1

Mackay Best -Braden DeAngelis, Angus Johnson, Nick Kemp, Eli Gunders

Game 9

Cairns 11-7-73

Capriccornia 1-0-6

Cairns- Goals – Shawn Watson 3, Lachlan Smith, Jack Bowes 2, Dinny Wolf, Kanja Kamara, Niall Gee, Jack Bowles 1

Cairns – Best Dinny Wolf, Johnathon Peeters, Hudson Trevitt-Lyell, Shawn Watson

Capricornia -Goals – Corey Murphy 1

Capricornia- Best -Baley Malkki, Josh Redsell, Corey Murphy, Tony Wolfenden, Riley Raven

Game 10

Cape York 6-4-40

Townsville 5-5-35

Cape York -Goals Emmerson Charlie 2, Landis Coleman, Travis Gullivar, Joe Kura, Steven Schriber 1

cape York – Best – Travis Gullivar, Lewis Fauid, Laken Pearson, Celestino Nona, Steven Schriber

Townsville -Goals -Nathan Rice, Ben Adams, Reiley Guest, Dominic Morrison, Dillon Scott

Townsville – Best – Michah Fitzsimmons, Nathan Searle, Josh Williams, Dillon Scott.

Our Supporters