Aspley set for Foxtel Cup clash

Aspley will play VFL powerhouse Williamstown in Round 1 of the Foxtel Cup at the MCG tonight.

The Hornets are currently in seventh place on the NEAFL ladder while the Seagulls are sitting third behind Box Hill and Port Melbourne.

The Hornets will need to be on top of their game to topple the Seagulls, who claimed the inaugural Foxtel Cup in 2011 and have 2013 Foxtel Cup premiership coach Andy Collins at the helm.

 The Foxtel Cup provides a showcase for the best state league teams, with the games providing opportunities for players to push for opportunities with AFL clubs.

This year’s cup will see matches played on Tuesday nights, to maximise exposure for competing clubs and players.

The winning team will claim a first prize of $100,000, while the format of three matches to win the title will again ensure the competition should complement the state league seasons and not compromise any team’s pursuit of its state league premiership with too many extra matches.

All four matches in round one and the semi-finals and final will be broadcast on the FOX FOOTY Channel from 8:30 each Tuesday night.

All matches will again consist of four quarters each of eighteen (18) minutes set time, plus time-on from the last 3 minutes only (20 minutes approximately total per quarter), to lessen the load on players as well as to enable games to fit into a two-hour broadcast window.

Round One:

Four round two knockout matches to be played in the period between April 29 – May 27.

Semi Finals:

Two knockout semi-final matches to be played on June 24 and July 1.

Grand Final:

Grand Final to be played on Tuesday July 22. Venue to be determined dependent on the competing teams.




29. Jason Satchell

23. Michael Hutchinson

30. Robert Copeland

Half Backs:

1. Ryan Thomson

31. Gavin Grose

7. Joey Daye


26. Jon Williams

8. Matt Payne

32. Cheynee Stiller

Half Forwards:

5. Eddie Sansbury

10. Adam Hughes

21. Jack Stanley


11. Clinton French

25. James Nelis

4. Daniel Smith


6. Michael Pettitt

24. Ryan Matthews

2. Austin Lucy


22. Brendan Forbes

33. Henry Joyce

12. Reece Toye


17. Josh Wagner




13. Jack James

35. George Hannaford

19. Jed Turner



10. Leigh Masters

31. David Fahey

12. Josh Bench

Half Backs:

7. Nick Sing

25. Sam Critchley

1. Jack Dorgan


13. Stephen Mccallum

9. Adam Marcon

20. Sean Hetherington

Half Forwards:

22. Damien Bugeja

14. Scott Clouston

44. Jake Owen


36. Charlie Nastasi

19. Sean Tighe

29. Ben Casley


33. Tim Currie

24. Michael Gibbons

26. Jack Johnstone


6. Anton Woods

28. Andrew Gallucci

8. Dylan Conway


30. Dale Hoghton




34. Jordan Mead

11. Daniel Kulikowski

45. Brad Mangan





Our Supporters