Ashlee makes history at BJ Awards

Forest Lake’s Ashlee Sciortino has made history as the first female player to receive the AFL Brisbane Juniors top honour; the O’Callaghan Medal for most votes polled in any division.

Ashlee’s 40 votes saw her nudge out Redland’s Miller Rose, who picked up the George Turnball medal with 39 votes.


Over 300 players, parents and volunteers turned out for the AFL Brisbane Juniors Gala Awards at Kedron Wavell Services Club last night.

Ex-Brisbane Lions star Richard Champion hosted the event, with current player and Brisbane Juniors Ambassador Liam Dawson, and Lion’s female marquee players Tayla Harris and Sabrina Frederick-Traub serving as medal presenters for the evening.

Best and fairest medals were handed out across all nineteen divisions, while Kate Guy from Mt Gravatt was named AFL Brisbane Juniors Youth Coach of the Year and Andrew Groom from Wests Juniors awarded the AFL Brisbane Juniors Coach of the Year.

The Neville Blunt Club Championship Award went to Redland.

Volunteers were also recognised with Rod Lake from Kenmore receiving the Brisbane Juniors Club Volunteer of the Year award.

AFL Brisbane Juniors

2016 Awards

Club Championship:                   Redland

2016 Medal Winners:

Under 12 Division 1                           Redland                                  Alan O’Neill  (19)

Under 12 Division 2                           Sandgate                                 Jack Campbell (17)

Under 12 Division 3                           Wynnum                                 Aleem Sanni  (31)

Under 12 Division 4                           Alexandra Hills                      Patrick Burford (21)

Under 13 Division 1                           Sherwood                                Benjamin Finke (25)

Under 13 Division 2                           Redland                                  Miller Rose (39)

Under 13 Division 3                           Beenleigh                                Nathan Field (23)

Under 13 Girls                                    Forest Lake                             Ashlee Sciortino (40)

Under 14 Division 1                           Aspley                                      Lachlan McCormick (25)

Under 14 Division 2                           Calamvale                               Regan Simmons (20)

Under 14 Division 3                           Park Ridge                              Ethan Lennen (17)

Under 15 Division 1                           Moreton Bay                           Ronan Mayes (25)

Sherwood                               James Ward (25)

Under 15 Division 2                           Narangba                                Samuel Cairns (24)

Under 15 Division 3                           Beenleigh                                Dillon Lewis (25)

Under 15 Girls Division 1                  Moreton Bay Lions               Lily Postlethwaite (35)

Under 15 Girls Division 2                  Jindalee                                 Gracie Nugent(18)

Under 17 Division 1                           Beenleigh                                Mitchell Fitzpatrick (22)

Under 17 Division 2                           Springwood                            Riley Brandenburg (33)

Under 17 Girls                                    Coorparoo                               Tarni White (25)


George Turnbull Medal              Redland                                  Miller Rose (39)


O’Callaghan Medal                        Forest Lake                          Ashlee Sciortino (40)


AFLBJ Volunteers of the Year

Brisbane Lions Services to Junior AFL     Beenleigh                   Mick Jordan
League Administrator                       AFLBJ Umpires                  Lachlan Chambers

Club Volunteer                                   Kenmore                                Rod Lake
Club Administrator                            Alexandra Hills                    Leanne Taylor

Junior Coach                                       Wests Juniors                       Andrew Groom

Youth Coach                                       Mt Gravatt                              Kate Guy

Female Coach                                     Calamvale                               Helena McNaught
EXIMM Junior Club Person            Sherwood                               Ashleigh Wright


2016 Sponsor                         McDonald’s

Our Supporters