All-Australian honours for Diversity boys

Eight Queenslanders have been named in the 2016 Boomerangs and World Team squads to compete at the 2016 NAB AFL Under-16 Championships on the Gold Coast in July.

Philemon Baira (Badu Island) and Hammiso Tabaui (Cairns) made the the Boomerangs list while Tito Sheriff (Yeronga), Kelly Castle (Bribie Island), Sam Cairns (Narangba), Rowan Anderson (Darling Downs), Isaac William (Zillmere) and Bruce Reville (Wide Bay) made the World Team squad.

Selected by AFL Club recruiters following the 2016 AFL National Diversity Championships held in Townsville, the respective squads of 30 young men has been chosen based on school attendance, leadership skills, and football ability.

The AFL Flying Boomerangs program is a personal development and leadership program for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander young men aged 14-16 years old, supported by Rio Tinto. Meanwhile the World Team is made up of the best upcoming AFL multicultural players from across the nation.

In a further nod to local talent, Queensland’s Peter Yagmoor (Boomerangs) and Anda Tyalana (World) will assist in coaching the national squads.

AFL General Manager Game and Market Development, Simon Lethlean, said the AFL Flying Boomerangs and World Team programs are a great opportunity for the best rising Indigenous and Multicultural talent in the nation to develop on and off the field.

“Those selected will be exposed to the best training, coaching and mentoring, as well as personal development opportunities during the NAB AFL Under-16 Championships in July.

“Over the past couple of years we have seen the Diversity Championships grow into a genuine elite talent pathway and we look forward to witnessing the next stage of development for these players, coaches, and umpires,” Mr Lethlean said.

The Queenslanders:

Flying Boomerangs:

Philemon Baira

  • From Torres Strait Islands, Badu Island community.
  • Year 9 Abergowrie College student .
  • Member of the Cape Crusader team which recently won the North Queensland U16 Country Championships.

Hammiso Tabaui

  • Gold Coast SUNS Academy member
  • U15 Queensland Reds Academy member
  • living in Cairns attends Trinity Bay SHS
  • Selected in 2016 Peninsula AFL team


World Team:

Tito Sheriff (mid/fwd)

  • Attends Yeronga State High
  • Has never played club footy
  • Youngest player in this year’s Queensland All Nations Team. (Turned 14 this year)
  • Queensland representative Soccer player

Kelly Castle (mid/fwd)

  • From Bribie Island.
  • Brisbane Lions Academy member

Sam Cairns (mid)

  • Plays for Narangba Crows
  • Lions Academy member

Rowan Anderson (mid)

  • Darling Downs
  • Travels from Dalby to Brisbane each week to play for Mt Gravatt
  • Lions Academy member

Isaac William  (ruck/back)

  • Plays for Zillmere Eagles Football Club
  • Younger brother of Brisbane Lions rookie Reuben
  • Lions Academy member

Bruce Reville (back)

  • From Wide Bay
  • Plays footy in Maryborough
  • Attends school in Harvey Bay

Full Squad lists

2016 Boomerangs squad:

Treigh Stewart (NSW), Che Munro (NSW), Malcolm Rosas (NT), Kaiya Jones, (NT), Joel Jeffery, (NT), Kyle Gowley, (NT), Dillen Brown, (NT), Brandon Rusca, (NT), Robert Campbell, (NT), Philemon Baira, (QLD), Hammiso Tabaui, (QLD), Tyran Hill, (SA), Anzac Lochowiak, (SA), Kobe Brown, (VIC), Jai Taylor, (VIC), Todd Garner, (VIC), Jamarra Ugle-Hagan, (VIC), Leiwyn Jones, (VIC), Tyrone Thorne, (WA), Robbie Johnson, (WA), Liam Henry, (WA), Jon Humphries, (WA), Cox Khai-Arn, (WA), Kaije Slater, (WA), Tarkyn Brogan-Henry, (WA), Malek Wallum, (WA), Elijah Taylor, (WA), Ashley Colbung, (WA), Christian Miller-Sabbioni, (WA), Rueben McGuire, (WA).


2016 World Team squad:

Harry Cooper (NSW), Jehad Chahrouk (NSW), Nicolas Jooske (NSW), Lodviko Cokanauto (NT), Tito Sheriff (QLD), Kelly Castle (QLD), Sam Cairns (QLD), Rowan Anderson (QLD), Isaac William (QLD), Bruce Reville (QLD), Ajay Hem (SA), Joel Groom (SA), Kostandinos Georgiadis (SA), Edward Gattick (VIC), Emmanuel Ajang (VIC), Mathiang Chak (VIC), Ako Warakea (VIC),

Paul Sidhu (VIC), Marlyn Staunton (VIC), Tot Jok (VIC), Biggie Nyuon (VIC), Soka Yugusuk (WA), Jaylen Grey (WA), Kwame Ekpe (WA), Sandi Mathiang (WA), Preston Rusario (WA), Atem Deng (WA), Dominic Kennedy (WA), Fred Ruemesha (WA), Noel Mancuvani (WA).


Coaching Panels

The AFL Flying Boomerangs will be coached by Jermaine Davies (WA) with Shannon Motlop (NT), Peter Yagmoor (QLD), and Peter Mongta (VIC) named as assistants.

Australia Post will once again support the World Team who will be coached by David Rodan (VIC). Patrick Karnezis (VIC), Anda Tyalana (QLD), and Tony Olango (NT) will be assistant coaches.


Our Supporters