All-Australian for Queenslander Beams

By Lauren Bragg

Queensland product Dayne Beams has been named a 2012 All-Australian, signifying the twenty-two year old’s first selection in the team.

Originally from Victoria, Beams moved with his family to the Gold Coast as a four-year-old in 1994. Three years later he played his first season of football for Mudgeeraba.

Throughout the years that followed Beams demonstrated extraordinary talent, representing Queensland three times in 2002, 2005 and 2006. The 2007 season saw him make his senior debut for Southport.

In 2008 he was given the opportunity to captain Queensland at the U18 National Championships. In the same year, Dayne was the only Queenslander to attend the AFL Draft Camp.

Later – revealing that he’d always wanted to play for Collingwood – he was drafted by the club as selection number 29, in the second round of the draft.

The youngster was soon awarded by the club the number 17 jumper, previously held by retired captain Scott Burns.

After having made played three games in the 2009 NAB Cup, Beams made his AFL debut in round two against Melbourne at the MCG, in which he had 18 touches. In the season that followed, he played 18 games, kicked 14 goals, and averaged 18 possessions per game.

During his time at Collingwood, Beams has continued to improve and develop as a player. His selection in the All-Australian team is not particularly surprising, as throughout season 2012 he has made 337 kicks, 97 marks, 83 tackles and has kicked 27 goals.

The 2012 All-Australian team

B: Sean Dempster (St Kilda), Luke McPharlin (Fremantle), Darren Glass (West Coast)

HB: Beau Waters (West Coast), Ted Richards (Sydney), Grant Birchall (Hawthorn)

C: Trent Cotchin (Richmond), Jobe Watson (Essendon), Dayne Beams (Collingwood)

HF: Patrick Dangerfield (Adelaide), Lance Franklin (Hawthorn), Cyril Rioli (Hawthorn)

F: Stephen Milne (St Kilda), Tom Hawkins (Geelong), Dean Cox (West Coast)

FOLL: Nic Naitanui (West Coast), Scott Thompson (Adelaide), Gary Ablett (Gold Coast)

INT: Brett Deledio (Richmond), Josh Kennedy (Sydney), Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood), Dane Swan (Collingwood)

CAPTAIN: Darren Glass (West Coast)

Our Supporters