AFLQSCup 2019: State Finals to be live streamed by Courier Mail

Andrew Dawson, The Courier-Mail

The historic decision will see matches from field No. 1 livestreamed across News’ sites throughout Queensland.

Sign up HERE to watch the games live

Preliminary finals will start on October 18 at the Maroochydore Multi Sports Complex and, after a rest day, continue on October 20 when the champions will be crowned.


“We are excited to partner with NewsCorp to provide live-streaming on field 1 for both days,’’ said Mark Ensor, AFL Queensland State Manager — Game Development & Diversity.

“This will ensure for the first time in the history of AFL school competitions in this state, fans and families will be given access to live coverage of our premier school competition.

“This partnership fits with our vision of being the most progressive and accessible team sport in Queensland.’’

Livestreaming coverage, across The Courier-Mail and 15 other daily newspaper sites from Cairns to the Gold Coast, will start on field No. 1 from 11.30am on October 18 when the senior female senior preliminary final is decided between Narangba Valley SHS and Palm Beach Currumbin SHS.

Only games from field No. 1 will be livestreamed across both days of competition.

This is the October 18 field No. 1 preliminary final draw


Senior female (11.30am), Narangba Valley SHS v Palm Beach Currumbin SHS;

Junior male (1pm), Helensvale SHS v Palm Beach Currumbin SHS;

Junior inclusion (2.45pm), Sunshine Coast Region v Ryan Catholic College;

Senior female (4.15pm), Miami SHS v The Cathedral College;

Senior male (5.45pm), Palm Beach Currumbin SHS v St Augustine’s College.

Sunday fixtures will not be finalised until after the completion of the Friday preliminary finals – but the junior boys and senior girls and boys finals will all be livestreamed among the 5 live games that day.

This year a record 600 teams encompassing 11,844 students started in the AFL Queensland Schools Cup.


Primary Male Division (Padua College, Marymount Primary School, Stella Maris Primary School, Ryan Catholic College);

Primary Female Division (St Mary’s Primary School Ipswich, Hillcrest Christian College, Walkervale State School, Kirwan State School);

Junior Male Division (Mountain Creek SHS, Helensvale SHS, St Augustine’s College, Palm Beach Currumbin SHS);

Junior Female Division (Varsity State College, Kedron SHS, Palm Beach Currumbin SHS, Ryan Catholic College);

Senior Male Division (Palm Beach Currumbin SHS, Mountain Creek SHS, St Augustine’s College, Helensvale SHS);

Senior Female Division (Miami SHS, Narangba Valley SHS, The Cathedral College, Palm Beach Currumbin)

Junior Male Inclusion (Year 7-9 players identified as having a disability under the Education Adjustment Program)

Senior Male Inclusion (Year 10-12 players).

Our Supporters