On the back of changes to the structure of the Under 18 talent program in 2009, AFL Queensland and the Hyundai Brisbane Lions Academy recently ran a successful ‘testing & screening’ day for invited 17 – 19 yr olds with over 60 players participating to finalise a ‘development squad’ of players who will now train over summer in preparation for possible selection in the QLD Scorpions State Under 18 Program.

When considering players for the initial invitation and subsequent training squad selection a number of factors are taken into consideration including (but not limited to):  skill level, game sense / knowledge, fitness levels, attitude and work ethic and ability to follow instructions.

The players that haven’t chosen in the training squad are strongly encouraged to continue training hard over summer back at your respective senior clubs and the Under 18 program staff will liaise your club coaches / football managers staff to monitor you progress.

Players outside of the training squad may be invited in to join the squad at a later date if they consistently demonstrate the required characteristics and abilities at club level over summer.

Those players that have been selected in the training squad below will be required to commit to training a minimum 3 sessions a week as a group commencing in the first week of November as well as doing gym work in their own time. Failure to meet these requirements may result in players being removed from the training group at any stage.

The players named below along with at least parent / guardian are required to attend a compulsory “Orientation Session” on Monday 31st October at the Gabba starting at 6:00pm.

During this session the training program, coaches & staff and expectations required will be outlined in more detail. Please confirm your attendance as soon as possible by emailing or calling Robbie Hull at AFLQ on or ph: 3033 5405

Isaac Conway

Dan Poultney

Lewis Radford

Jono Skippen

Lachlan Niland-Rowe

Lachlan Dignan

Zac Southern

Sam Moyle

Alex Hall

Blake Gambale

Aden Rutledge

Dylan Bresnehan

Cain Tickner

Monty Reeves

Nathan Newcastle

Joe Wilson

Jordan Bain

Brad Lewis

Jesse Wallin

Josh Wagner

Ryan Johnson

Brock Paulke

Nick Davidson

Shaun Crook

Jackson Gray

Aliir Aliir

Spencer Greville

Josh Smith

Bill Pendlebury

Luke Rogerson

Sam Gribble

Jono Freeman

Sam Henry

Sam Cabrera

Ryan Major

Sam Daff

Tyrone Brimble

Haydn Smoothy

Clay Cameron

James O’Donnell

Jordan Bourke

Matthew Edwards

Michael Wyld

Rhys Power

James Ives

Daniel Affleck

Daniel Brown

Daniel Daye

Luke Glastonbury

Tom Overington

Our Supporters