AFL Darling Downs fixture released

AFL Darling Downs today released the 2014 Australian Football League Darling Downs (AFLDD) draw, marking the first season of the restructured competition.

The season will commence on March 28th, with the final home and away round to be played on August 23. The 2014 season will consist of 19 rounds played over 22 weeks with each Division 1 club playing17 matches.

Highlights of the draw include a number of AFLDD matches played on Friday nights along with Saturday and Sunday twilight fixtures, re-introduction of the City verse Country game and an inter-league representative match between the AFLDD and AFLGC/NR(spell out in full) to be played in June.

The AFLDD Division 1 will include eight clubs: Coolaroo, Goondiwindi, Highfields, Lockyer Valley, South Toowoomba, Toowoomba, University and Warwick. The Division 2 men’s and the Women’s competitions will expand to eight and six teams respectively.

AFL Darling Downs President Andrew Foley said the restructured competitions was a step forward for Darling Downs football and would provide new opportunities for the league.

“The restructuring of the ‘A’ Grade (Division 1) competition gave us the opportunity to reform the Reserves (Division 2) and align women’s football with clubs,” said Foley.

”This gives  all clubs, players and fans more games of football and will strengthen both the premier Darling Downs mens’ competitions with two eight team divisions.

“The new competition will see higher standards both on and off the field and will renew a number of old on-field rivalries, including Goondiwindi and Warwick and Coolaroo and the Toowoomba Tigers.

“Some AFLDD games will be played on Friday night, along with Sunday afternoons, while the AFLDD vs. AFLGC/NR representative match in June will provide the best southern Queensland players with an opportunity to play a higher standard football at one of the regionals best facilities in Reddies Oval in Warwick.

“We are also excited to announce that the Marge Shaw Trophy will return – awarded to Division 2 best and fairest player – with the Holman Medal remaining for Division 1 and Heather Green Medal for the Women’s competition.”

 2014 Season at a glance:

• Revised two divisions with 8 teams in each
• 22 weeks, 19 rounds and 17 matches per club in Division 1
• Seasons starts on Friday 28th March with the Grand-Final replay between Coolaroo and University at USQ AFL Oval
• A top four finals system
• Warwick to host University on Anzac Day
• Rep match AFLDD vs. AFLGC/NR in June
• Expanded Women’s competition 
• 414 home and away matches, across junior and senior football
• Eight AFLDD matches to be played on Friday nights
• Pittsworth’s Bridgman Oval to host five Division 1 games
• Non-competitive juniors expanded to Under 6 age group
• Representative games for Women’s, Under 16’s and Under 14’s against AFL Wide Bay
• Two country clubs to host representative games South Burnett AFC and Warwick AFC
• Grand Final on Saturday September 20


Allied Pickford’s Cup Men’s Division 1 – Coolaroo, Goondiwindi, Highfields, Lockyer Valley, South Toowoomba, Toowoomba, Warwick & University

Allied Pickford’s Men’s Division 2 –Chinchilla, Coolaroo, Dalby, Highfields, South Burnett, South Toowoomba, Warwick & University

Women’s – Coolaroo, Goondiwindi, Lockyer Valley, South Toowoomba, Warwick & University

McDonald’s Cup Under 16’s – Coolaroo, Dalby, Highfields, Lockyer Valley, South Toowoomba, Toowoomba, Warwick & University

McDonald’s Shield Under 14’s – Coolaroo, Dalby, Goondiwindi, Highfields, Lockyer Valley, South Burnett, South Toowoomba, Toowoomba, Warwick & University

McDonald’s Under 12’s – Chinchilla, Coolaroo, Dalby, Goondiwindi, Highfields, Lockyer Valley, South Toowoomba, Toowoomba, Warwick & University

The full fixture is available by going to >> Fixture/Results

Our Supporters