Ablett wins record fourth MVP

Gary Ablett has claimed his second successive Club Champion award in as many seasons, taking out the honour at a sold out event at Southport Sharks.

Ablett, who was awarded votes in all but two of the 20 matches he played throughout the season, polled a total of 215  votes, 19 more than last season, winning the award ahead of Harley Bennell  (163votes) and Danny Stanley (84 votes).

The Gold Coast SUNS skipper once again exceeded expectations in 2012. The five time  All Australian amassed 389 kicks (First in the AFL), 61 marks, 287 handballs and 26 goals. He averaged  19.5 kicks, 3.1 marks and 14.4 handballs a game. 

Despite falling short to Ablett, Bennell’s brilliance was on display throughout the season with the star midfielder receiving the maximum 20 votes on two occasions through the year. However, highlighting Bennell’s consistency was his ability to register votes in 20 matches throughout the season.

Danny Stanley’s continued improvement didn’t go unnoticed with the match committee. Stanley took  his game to another level in 2012 and despite missing the first seven matches of the season through injury and suspension, polled votes in all of his 13 games.

Gold Coast SUNS Club Champion Voting System 

The Gold Coast SUNS match committee, comprising of the senior coach and three assistant coaches can award votes to an unlimited number of players per match. A player can receive a maximum of five votes, from each individual member of the match committee, therefore the maximum number of votes a player can receive per round totals 20.

2012 Gold Coast SUNS Club Champion Top Ten

1st – Gary Ablett 215

2nd – Harley Bennell 163

3rd – Danny Stanley 84

4th – Matthew Warnock 82

5th – Campbell Brown 69

6th – Brandon Matera 63

7th – David Swallow 61

8th – Tom Lynch 58

9th – Charlie Dixon 56

10th – Dion Prestia 53

Other Awards Presented:

2012 Victor Sports Iron Man Award

Presented to the player who achieved the most “desired indicators” on-field during the season.


2012 Community Award

Presented to the player who demonstrated their dependability and commitment to the clubs core community programs.


2012 HOSTPLUS Most Professional Award

Presented to the player judged most professional by the strength and conditioning staff.


2012 Grand Motors Toyota Most Improved Award

Presented to the player judged by the match committee to have made the greatest improvement on-field.


2012 NEAFL Player of the Year Award

Presented to the player judged to have made the greatest contribution at NEAFL level, by the GC SUNS Development Coaches.


2011 Gold Coast SUNS Club Champion Top Ten

1st – Gary Ablett 196

2nd – Nathan Bock 138

3rd – Michael Rischitelli 100

4th – David Swallow 98

5th – Danny Stanley 95

6th – Zac Smith 93

7th – Jared Brennan 83

8th – Jarrod Harbrow 82

9th – Sam Iles 49

= 10th – Harley Bennell & Trent McKenzie 45

Our Supporters