2019 AFL Queensland Game Development Awards Winners

Last Friday AFL Queensland recognised the contribution of AFL game development ambassadors and volunteers across Queensland and NSW Northern Rivers at this year’s AFL Queensland Game Development Thank You Function.

More than 150 AFL School Ambassadors, Junior Match Program Coaches and volunteers from across the state came together to celebrate those who have made the greatest contribution to growing the game of AFL in 2019. 

Speaking at the event, AFL Queensland CEO, Dean Warren, commended all those in attendance on their passion and commitment to providing opportunities to their local communities to participate in AFL.

“AFL Queensland’s vision is to be the most accessible and progressive team sport in Queensland,” Mr Warren said.

“This vision cannot be achieved without the wonderful support of our volunteers and ambassadors.

“One of our Destination 2022 strategic priorities is to have the greatest presence in schools among all sports in Queensland,” Mr Warren added.

“It is our goal that AFL truly reflects the diversity of our Queensland community.”

2019 AFL Queensland Game Development Awards

Kids Squad Member of the Year
Recognises the most outstanding member of our AFL Kids Squad. The Kids Squad are responsible for engaging with kids to deliver exciting participation programs  
Winner: Reiley Guest (Townsville)

NAB Auskick Coordinator of the Year
Awarded to the volunteer who has most significantly contributed to the success of the NAB AFL Auskick program in their club and community.
Winner: Robin Cray (Kedron FC, Brisbane)

Junior Match Program Coach of the Year
Recognises the most outstanding contributors to the success of our Junior Match Program, Roy’s Junior Footy or Superstars Footy.
Winners: Sam Dunmill (Goondiwindi Hawks, Darling Downs) and Murray Egan (Coolum Beach JAFC, Sunshine Coast/Wide Bay)

Diversity Ambassador of the Year
This award recognises the most outstanding Diversity Ambassador who ensures our vision of being the most accessible and progressive team in sport in Queensland comes to life
Winner: Kelly Barron (TAFE Queensland, Darling Downs)

AFL School Ambassador Service to Football
Awarded to teachers who have contributed over an extended period of time to the growth and awareness of AFL within their school or their wider community. These teachers are the backbone of AFL within their region and are major contributors to the growth and sustainability of school football.
Winners: Mal McCarther (Glenmore State School, Capricornia) and Paul Keenan (Toowoomba East State School)

Contribution to Female Participation
Awarded to a teacher who has displayed a passion and commitment for driving female football through school and/or club transition programs. They continuously go above and beyond to provide young women with access to our great game and remove obstacles to participation. 
Winner: Shannon Hill (Sunshine Beach SHS, Sunshine Coast)

Students Choice AFL Teacher of the Year
Awarded to a teacher who contributes to students’ learning and sporting experiences. Students were asked to nominate their teachers via social media. We received a record number of nominations this year which reflects the amazing work teachers are doing for our great game.
Gold Coast SUNS Zone Winner: Andrew Grubba (Ryan Catholic College, Townsville)
Brisbane Lions Zone Winner: Ashleigh Hales (Narangba Valley SHS, Brisbane)

AFL School Ambassadors of the Year
This award recognises the most outstanding primary and secondary school ambassadors in Queensland for their ongoing commitment, passion and efforts to increase participation in school football, driving club transition and the promotion of the AFL brand. 
Primary School Winner: Kurt Gislingham (Gaven State School, Gold Coast)
Secondary School Winner: Andrew Grubba (Ryan Catholic College, Townsville)

AFL9s Coordinator of the Year
This award recognises the most outstanding coordinator in the AFL9s program.
Winner: James Dent (Coorparoo JAFC, Brisbane)

Our Supporters