2018 McDonald’s Brisbane Juniors Gala Awards Night

By Larissa Mouttou

In 2018 AFL Brisbane Juniors increased to 6,953 players, across 433 teams and 48 competitions. On Monday night the best of these Brisbane Juniors came together with family, friends and volunteers at Kedron Wavell Services Club to celebrate the 2018 AFL Brisbane Juniors Gala Awards Night.

The night’s top honour, the O’Callaghan Medal, was awarded to Maryshae Green from Moggill. Playing in the Under 13  Division 3 girl’s competition she polled the most votes in any division with 32 votes. Maryshae is the second female to be awarded the top honour, after Ashlee Sciortino from Forest Lakes Dragons received the medal in 2016.

The 2018 EXIMM Junior Club Person was awarded  to Charlie Selth from Wests Juniors. At just 15 years of age, Charlie’s active involvement across all aspects of his club is outstanding. His roles have included; welcoming new club members, coaching the Wests Juniors Roy’s Junior Footy team, junior umpiring, running water and generally being available for any job that needs to be done.

Congratulations to all the night’s winners, and best of luck for all those competing in finals.

2018 McDonald’s AFL Brisbane Juniors Gala Award Winners

Club Championship
The Club Championship Shield is awarded to the club whose teams win the greatest percentage of gamed for the season (Youth Football Games only)

2018 Winner: Kedron

2018 Medal Winners
Awarded to the player/s who receives the most votes from the umpires during the Home & Away season, by age group.

Under 12 Division 1- Baxter Ellis, Morningside
Under 12 Division 2- Maxwell Brock, Wilston Grange
Under 12 Division 3 – Sheldon Bedford-Parsons, ​ Ferny Grove
Under 12 Division 4- Aidan Brennan, ​Kenmore
Under 12 Division 5- Owen Maguire, Jimboomba
Under 13 Girls Division 1- Bonita Norman, ​Mt Gravatt
Under 13 Girls Division 2- Teagan Dare, Jimboomba
Under 13 Girls Division 3  – Maryshae Green, Moggill
Under 14 Division 1- Thomas Clark-Boyce, Wilston Grange
Under 14 Division 2- Anastasios Kotatis, Moreton Bay and Kaleb Nolan, Park Ridge
Under 14 Division 3 – Matthew Williams, Kedron
Under 14 Division 4- Jack Kalan, Mt Gravatt
Under 14 Division 5- Ashwyn Smith, Moggill
Under 15 Girls Division 1- Lucia Liessi, Aspley
Under 15 Girls Division 2- Jordan Fannin, Calamvale
Under 16 Division 1- Ky McKenzie, Aspley
Under 16 Division 2- Regan Simmons, Calamvale
Under 16 Division 3 – Kyle McClure, Springwood
Under 16 Division 4- Delsen Jones, Ferny Grove/Aspley
Under 17 Girls Division 1- Bella Smith, Narangba
Under 17 Girls Division 2- Zimmorlei Farquharson, Calamvale

George Turnbull Medal
The George Turnbull Medal is awarded to the player/s who receive the second highest number of votes from the umpires during the Home & Away season, regardless of the age group.

2018 Winners: Jack Kalan, Mt Gravatt and Bella Smith, Narangba (29 votes)

O’Callaghan Medal
The O’Callaghan Medal is awarded to the player who receives the most votes from the umpires during the Home & Away season, regardless of the age group.

2018 Winner: Maryshae Green, Moggill (32 votes)

Volunteers of the Year
Each club, league or association is invited to nominate an outstanding volunteer as an AFL Volunteer of the Year. The volunteer may have contributed to the completion of a major or significant project throughout the year or they may be someone who has contributed in a number of roles over a long period

Club Volunteer- Denyale Juffs-King, Redcliffe

Club Administrator- Evan Marshall, Carindale

Junior Coach- Dan Jaillet, Alexandra Hills

Youth Coach-  Rob Wilson, Alexandra Hills

EXIMM Junior Club Person-Charlie Selth, Wests Juniors

2018 Partner     


2018 Charity Partner

Ronald McDonald House South East Queensland

Our Supporters