2018 Gold Coast Juniors Gala Awards Night

By Larissa Mouttou

Image: High Flyer Images

AFL Gold Coast hosted close to 400 junior players, parents and volunteers at Southport Sharks on Wednesday night to celebrate the 2018 Gold Coast Juniors Gala Awards Night.

The 2018 Player of the Year was awarded to Jed Walter from Palm Beach Currumbin. Playing in the Under 14  Division 1 competition he polled the most votes in any division with 32 votes.

The 2018 EXIMM Gold Coast Junior Junior Club Person was awarded to Alastair Johnson from Coomera Magpies. Alastair gives up his time to help at the club in the canteen on Friday nights and weekend home games. In addition he umpires on weekend’s. Alastair’s commitment to AFL is first class and his dedication to umpiring and helping with the junior kids at the club is exceptional. He always has a smile on his face.

Finlay Blacklock, AFL Gold Coast Junior Competitions Manager said, “It is fantastic to see Alastair recognised for his contribution to Coomera Magpies, he truly embodies our AFL values and we thank him for the time he gives up to help grow our fantastic game of Aussie Rules Football.”

2018 Gold Coast Juniors Gala Award Winners

Club of the Year
The Club of the Year is awarded to the club whose teams win the greatest percentage of games for the season (Youth Football Games only)

2018 Winner: Palm Beach Currumbin

2018 Best & Fairest Winners
Awarded to the player/s who receives the most votes from the umpires during the Home & Away season, by age group.

Under 12 Division 1
Winner: Leo Lombard, Burleigh Bombers
Runner Up: Lucas Snowball, Surfers Paradise

Under 12 Division 2
Winner: Willis Del-Re, Broadbeach Cats
Runner Up: Austin Field, Southport Sharks

Under 14 Division 1
Winner: Jed Walter, Palm Beach Currumbin
Runner Up: Jared Eckersley, Coomera Magpies

Under 14 Division 2
Winner: Harrison Marsham, Broadbeach Cats
Runner Up: Liam Wildman, Palm Beach Currumbin

Under 16 Division 1
Winner: Bodhi Uwland, Burleigh Bombers
Runner Up: Billy Evers, Labrador

Under 13 Girls
Winner: Havana Harris, Burleigh Bombers
Runner Up: Jasmine Hewitson, Southport Sharks

Under 15 Girls
Winner: Piper Phelen, Palm Beach Currumbin
Runner Up: Fleur Davies, Southport Sharks

Under 17 Girls
Winner:  Emily Stewart, Southport Sharks
Runners Up: Jay-Lee Morris, Broadbeach Cats & Liv Stephenson, Burleigh Bombers

150 Match Medallists

Daniel Le Quesne, Broadbeach
Brayden Taylor, Broadbeach
Jonah Semmler, Broadbeach
Sharik Hammadi, Broadbeach
Bryn Larkin, Burleigh
Monte Ruff, Burleigh
Deegan Edgar, Coomera
Charlie Hamilton, Coomera
Louis Pain, Labrador
Ryan Sergi, Palm Beach Currumbin
Liam Suddes, Palm Beach Currumbin
Piper Phelan, Palm Beach Currumbin
Riley Johnson, Southport
Mitchell Bell, Southport
Joshua Beardshall, Surfers Paradise
Kane Gordon, Surfers Paradise
Joshua Mackay, Surfers Paradise

200 Match Medallist

Liam Lambert, Broadbeach

Player of the Year
The Player of the Year is awarded to the player who receives the most votes from the umpires during the Home & Away season, regardless of the age group.

2018 Winner: Jed Walter, Palm Beach Currumbin (30 votes)

Volunteers of the Year
Each club, league or association is invited to nominate an outstanding volunteer as an AFL Volunteer of the Year. The volunteer may have contributed to the completion of a major or significant project throughout the year or they may be someone who has contributed in a number of roles over a long period

Club Volunteer- Paul Redley, Southport Sharks
Club Administrator- John Lavendar, Tweed Coolangatta Blues
Junior Coach- Hamish Mitchell, Mudgeeraba Spartans
Youth Coach-  Andrew Hayes, Burleigh Bombers
Female Coach- Belinda Phelan, Palm Beach Currrumbin Lions
Junior Umpire- Bethany McTaggert, Tweed Coolangatta Blues
Youth Umpire- Lachlan Martyr
EXIMM Junior Club Person- Alastair Johnson, Coomera Magpies


Our Supporters